Stella Dafermos Mid-Career Award

Call for Nominations

The Stella Dafermos Achievement Award in Transportation Science is awarded to at most one individual in a year by the INFORMS Transportation Science and Logistics Society, to honor a mid-career scholar who has made fundamental scientific contributions to transportation science and logistics. Other considerations when evaluating an individual are their impact on practice, their service to TSL, and their involvement in diversity and inclusion-related activities. To be eligible for the award, an individual must be within 10 and 20 years of having finished their PhD on December 31st of the year they are nominated. Nominations are due by June 1st, 2024. It is incumbent upon the nominating individual to ensure their nominee meets the eligibility criteria. The typical nomination will include the CV of the nominee and a letter explaining why their accomplishments merit consideration for the award. The award is accompanied by a $750 honorarium.

Whom to contact: Committee Chair

Hani Mahmassani (


2024 Committee Members

  • Niels Agatz
  • Maria Battara
  • Ann Campbell  
  • Hani Mahmassani (Chair)
  • Andres Medaglia