TSL Best Paper Award

Application Process

The TSL Best Paper Award is given once a year to an outstanding paper in the field of transportation science and logistics. The paper must have been published in a refereed journal and must present innovative approaches for solving complex problems in transportation and/or logistics, with an emphasis on operations research and quantitative methods. Any author must submit only one of his/her eligible papers. In addition, no individual may be a co-author on more than two papers submitted to the competition. A paper is eligible for the competition if

  • its main topic is related to the field of transportation science and logistics;
  • it is written in English; and
  • it has been published, or appears in pre-print form online through the publishing agency, between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2019. In the case of papers that are only available in pre-print form online at the time of consideration, the online publication date must be easily verifiable.
All topics related to the field of transportation science and logistics will be considered, including, but not being limited to:
airline operations;

  • facility logistics;
  • freight;
  • maritime logistics;
  • intelligent transportation systems;
  • transit;
  • urban transportation planning methods;
  • vehicle routing.
The winning paper will be announced at the TSL business meeting to be held during the annual INFORMS meeting in October (in Seattle, WA). The authors of the winning paper will share a prize of $800, and each will receive a certificate. The Best Paper Award committee will also select and recommend submissions for the Special Interest Group (SIG)
outstanding paper awards. Upon submission, state the SIG that best fits the topic of the paper (see list of SIGs at:

To submit a paper for the 2019 competition, one of the authors must email the paper, along with a short letter (maximum 2 pages) describing the merits of the paper, to the Chair of the TSL Best Paper Award Committee, on or before June 1, 2019. Please use the following email address for submissions:
osorioc AT mit DOT edu (Subject: TSL Best Paper Award Application / Applicant name).

2019 Committee Chair
Carolina Osorio
Associate Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA

The other members of the Committee are:
Joseph Chow
Assistant Professor
Department of Civil & Urban Engineering
New York University
New York, NY, USA

Harilaos N. Psaraftis
Department of Management Engineering
Technical University of Denmark
Lyngby, Denmark
Huseyin Topaloglu
School of Operations Research and Information Engineering
Cornell University / Cornell Tech
New York, NY, USA
Alejandro Toriello
Associate Professor
H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, GA, USA