Buck Weaver Award

Buck Weaver Award
Click here for a list of past winners.


The Buck Weaver Award is given annually by the INFORMS Society for Marketing Science (ISMS).  The award honors distinguished scholars and practitioners who have excelled in the achievement of rigor and relevance in marketing science.  The award is not restricted to ISMS members.  Previous winners include Paul Green, Vince Barabba (Head of US Census, previous Head of Marketing Research at Kodak and General Motors), Gerald Zaltman, John Little, David Aaker, Jerry Wind, Don Lehmann, Magid Abraham (co-founder of ComScore), Glen Urban, John Hauser, V. Srinivasan, Dominique Hanssens, Steven Cohen (Founding Partner, In4mation Insights), Gary Lilien, John Roberts, Michel Wedel and Roland Rust.

The selection committee is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Buck Weaver Award. 

The committee, constituted as per the awards protocol, consists of: Kusum Ailawadi (President-Elect, ISMS, Chair), Fred Feinberg (Past President ISMS), Michel Wedel (Past Winner), Koen Pauwels (VP of Practice ISMS), and Phil Leslie (Chief Digital Economist and Vice President, Amazon).


The criteria for the award are as follows:

  • Lifetime contribution to theory and practice in the development of rigor and relevance in marketing science.
  • Evidence of theory contribution can include scholarly publication as well as being a catalyst for the generation of scholarly work.
  • Evidence of practice contribution can include an important role in implementing marketing science in practice.


Nominations are encouraged from ISMS members as well as from members of the selection committee and should be submitted electronically in PDF format to the Secretary of the INFORMS Society for Marketing Science (see name and email below) before midnight EST March 15, 2021.  The nomination must be for an individual. Nominations for considering more than one person jointly are not permissible. The nomination must include a brief justification (150 words or fewer) that highlights the relevant achievements of the nominee. To be consistent with the award protocol, nominations for the 2021 award cannot be accepted after March 15, 2021.

Dr. Deepa Chandrasekaran

Secretary, INFORMS Society for Marketing Science (ISMS)

Associate Professor of Marketing

College of Business, University of Texas at San Antonio

Email: deepa.chandrasekaran@utsa.edu


The winner of the 2021 Buck Weaver Award will be selected by the end of April 2021 and the award will be presented at the 2021 Marketing Science Conference. It will also be announced on the INFORMS Society of Marketing website and in the Newsletter.