ISS Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award

INFORMS Information Systems Society Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award – 2022


Call for Nominations

The INFORMS Information Systems Society (ISS) invites nominations for the ISS Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award. Effective teaching of Information Systems (IS) courses plays a fundamental role in nurturing future generations of IS academics and practitioners. The primary aim of the award is to recognize IS faculty who have made outstanding pedagogical contributions to the IS discipline.

Eligibility and Submission Instructions

This award focuses on recognizing full-time IS educators. Both tenure-track and non-tenure track faculty across all faculty ranks are eligible for nomination. Nomination letters should describe the nominee’s unique and exceptional accomplishments in teaching and education. Generally, the award aims to recognize IS faculty who made teaching contributions that have a broad, discipline-wide impact. Examples of such contributions include (but are not limited to): creating shareable and transferable IS teaching materials (textbooks, cases, games, technology, presentations, etc.) that have been widely adopted; creating/facilitating/promoting faculty communities or teaching-oriented events for disseminating IS teaching ideas, methodologies, and best practices; pioneering innovative programs, courses, or teaching formats; etc. The nomination letter should articulate clearly the nature of the contributions, and how it has affected the IS community.

At this time, nominations for the award are invited from the IS community at large (Members of the award selection committee may add other candidates at their discretion and judgment). One ISS member nomination is sufficient, multi-member nomination is not necessary. Though self-nominations are discouraged, anyone can submit a nomination to the Vice-President of ISS by email at: (please state the subject as "Nomination for ISS Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award - 2022"). The deadline for submission of nominations is August 17, 2022.

The nomination should include a brief (not to exceed two pages) description of the candidate's achievements and eligibility for the award, with the focus on the discipline-wide impact of the candidate’s teaching/educational contributions. This description can include external links (URL) to teaching artifacts or any other supporting evidence. The nomination should also include the candidate’s CV and/or bio.

It is a condition of the award that the ISS Teaching Innovation Award winner be a member of the Information Systems Society and, except for unusual circumstances approved by the President of ISS, remain a member of the Society until they retire from full-time work.

Process and Timeline

An Award Selection Committee has been formed to recommend candidates for the award for 2022. The committee members are Jason Chan (ex-officio, VP-ISS), Roy Jones, Haim Mendelson (Chair), Galit Shumeli.

The award selection committee will deliberate upon the pool of nominees and make recommendations to the President of the Information Systems Society. Winners of the award will be informed on September 15th, 2022. The 2022 ISS Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award winner will be announced during the 2022 Conference on Information Systems Technology at Indianapolis, Indiana. A plaque from the society will be presented. Organization details of this celebration event will be updated later.

About the Informs Information Systems Society (ISS)

The Information Systems Society (ISS) supports the intellectual interests of information systems scholars who are members of INFORMS. It provides support for academic forums such as the annual Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST), the spring Theory in Economics of IS (TEIS) workshop, the summer Statistical Challenges in E-Commerce Research (SCECR) conference, and the annual IT Teaching workshop. The society also provides support for editorial activities and publication of Information Systems Research. In addition, the society sponsors or supports several awards each year including the ISS Distinguished Fellow Award, the Sandy Slaughter Early Career Award, the ISS Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award, the ISS Practical Impacts Award, the ISS Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award, and ISS Best Paper in Management Science Award. In addition to these awards, ISS is sponsoring two new awards this year, namely the ISS Bapna-Ghose Social Justice Best Paper Award, and the ISS President's Service Award, to recognize the deserving efforts of our community.