ISS Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award

INFORMS ISS Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award - 2023


Call for Submission

The INFORMS Information Systems Society (ISS) invites submissions for the 2023 Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award (NCDA). The NCDA is named in honor of two University of Arizona professors, Jay Nunamaker and Hsinchun Chen, who have made significant contributions to the field of Information Systems over the past several decades. The NCDA has been created to recognize and reward outstanding dissertation research by scholars in the field of Information Systems. The winner of the 2023 Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award will receive a US$1000 prize.

Questions about the competition can be addressed to the ISS President, Prof. Olivia Sheng (


To be eligible for the 2023 competition, dissertations must be in the field of information systems and must have been completed in the period from June 1, 2022 to May 31, 2023. Candidates must have successfully defended their dissertations and should have received the final approval and all required sign-offs on their dissertation documents by May 31, 2023. Dissertations that do not meet these criteria will not be considered eligible for the award.

Submission Instructions

All applications materials must be received no later than 11:59 PM US EDT on August 15, 2023. Any documents received after that date, and submissions without all of the appropriate documentation, will not be reviewed. INFORMS ISS encourages submissions from any country; however, all submitted materials must be in English.

Submissions should be emailed to Prof. Jason Chan ( Please state the subject as "NCDA 2023 Submission_FirstName LastName".

The following four documents are required. All four files must be submitted as a single pdf file in the order listed below. Submissions that do not meet these requirements will not be reviewed.

  1. A one-page summary of the dissertation.
  2. A copy of the entrant's current curriculum vitae.
  3. An extended abstract of the dissertation that highlights the significance of the problem, the methodological approach, and the key results and their potential applications. The extended abstract should be no more than 4000 words (not including references, tables, or figures).
  4. A letter of recommendation from the entrant's dissertation advisor that describes the significance of the research and comments on the originality of the work.

Optional: If there are working papers or publications based on the dissertation, these can be cited in the extended abstract, and submitted as additional materials.  All additional materials should be included in the same pdf file that contains the four required documents.

Reviewing Process and Winner Announcement

An Award Selection Committee has been formed. The committee members are Ahmed Abbasi (Chair), Sue Brown, Jason Chan (ex-officio, VP-ISS), and Bin Gu. Dissertations will be evaluated based on the following criteria: creativity and novelty, scope and magnitude of contribution to IS research, relevance to practice, technical quality, and richness of methodological approach.

Finalists will be notified by September 8, 2023 and the winner will be announced during the 2023 Conference on Information Systems Technology (CIST) at Phoenix, Arizona. We invite the winners and all of our members to come celebrate the winners’ as well as our society’s achievements at the Award session. Organization details of this celebration event will be updated later. Prior to the Award session, winners may individually share the good news with their deans, department heads, nominators, mentors and mentees, but the winners and others aware of the winning results should not reveal such information via online social media.