ISS President's Service Award

ISS Service Award

INFORMS Information Systems Society President's Service Award – 2022


Call for Nominations

The INFORMS Information Systems Society (ISS) invites nominations for the ISS President's Service Award. This award honors distinguished information systems (IS) academics who have demonstrated outstanding dedication in their service to the IS community.

This award aims to recognize IS academics who have exhibited extraordinary dedication in serving the IS community over time. Nominees are expected to be deeply involved with ISS-related organization activities, administrative roles, and leadership positions that benefit the growth and impact of the IS field, the engagement of IS professionals, and broader impact to the IS and business community.

The ISS President’s service award also recognizes IS academics who support the IS community across the globe and have a positive impact on underrepresented parts of the IS community.


This award focuses on recognizing information system (IS) faculty who have exhibited extraordinary dedication in serving the IS community. Nominees are deeply involved with various activities that benefitted the growth of the information system field and the engagement of IS professionals and academics.

An Award Selection Committee has been formed to recommend candidates for the award for 2022. The committee members are Ritu Agarwal, Jason Chan (ex-officio, VP-ISS), Paul Pavlou (Chair), Arun Rai.

At this stage, nominations for the award are invited from the information systems community at large. Though self-nominations are discouraged, anyone can submit a nomination to the Vice-President of ISS by email at: (please state the subject as "Nomination for ISS President's Service Award - 2022"). The deadline for submission of nominations is August 17, 2022.

Submission Instructions

The nomination should include a brief (not to exceed two pages) description of the candidate's achievements and eligibility for the award, and should be accompanied with a CV and/or a bio. Members of the award selection committee may add other candidates at their discretion and judgment. One ISS member nomination is sufficient, multi-member nomination is not necessary.

The award selection committee will deliberate upon the pool of nominees and make recommendations to the President of the Information Systems Society. Winners of the award will be informed on September 15th, 2022. The 2022 ISS President's Service Award winners will be announced during the 2022 Conference on Information Systems Technology at Indianapolis, Indiana. A plaque from the society will be presented. Organization details of this celebration event will be updated later.

It is a condition of the award that the ISS President's Service Award winner be a member of the Information Systems Society, and, except for unusual circumstances approved by the President of ISS, remain a member of the Society until they retire from full-time work.

About the Informs Information Systems Society (ISS)

The Information Systems Society (ISS) supports the intellectual interests of information systems scholars who are members of INFORMS. It provides support for academic forums such as the annual Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST), the spring Theory in Economics of IS (TEIS) workshop, the summer Statistical Challenges in E-Commerce Research (SCECR) conference, and the annual IT Teaching workshop. The society also provides support for editorial activities and publication of Information Systems Research. In addition, the society sponsors or supports several awards each year including the ISS Distinguished Fellow Award, the ISS Sandy Slaughter Early Career Award, the ISS Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award, the ISS Gordon B. Davis Young Scholar Award, the Haim Mendelson Teaching Innovation Award, the ISS Practical Impacts Award, and ISS Best Paper in Management Science Award. In addition to these awards, ISS is sponsoring two new awards this year, namely the ISS Bapna-Ghose Social Justice Best Paper Award, and the ISS President's Service Award, to recognize the deserving efforts of our community.