Decision Analysis Journal

DAS members receive complimentary online access to Decision Analysis. The print journal can be added for an extra $10. Decision Analysis is a quarterly journal dedicated to advancing the theory, application, and teaching of all aspects of decision analysis. The primary focus of the journal is to develop and study operational decision-making methods, drawing on all aspects of decision theory and decision analysis, with the ultimate objective of providing practical guidance for decision makers. As such, the journal aims to bridge the theory and practice of decision analysis, facilitating communication and the exchange of knowledge among decision analysts in academia, business, industry, and government. Decision Analysis is included in the Social Sciences Citation Index.

To search or browse the table of contents, visit the journal website.

Decision Analysis Journal

The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Award

The Decision Analysis Special Recognition Award is given annually for the paper most worthy of recognition published in Decision Analysis. We are pleased to announce the winners for 2023.  For more information: .

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2023

Winner: Gordon Hazen, Emanuele Borgonovo, Xuefei Lu, 

Information Density in Decision Analysis, Volume 20, Issue 2, June 2023


Roger Chapman Burk, Richard M. Nehring
An Empirical Comparison of Rank-Based Surrogate Weights in Additive Multiattribute, Volume 20, Issue 1, March 2023

2023 Award Selection Committee: 

Jun Zhuang (Chair), Saurabh Bansal, and Jay Simon

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2022


Andrea C. Hupman
Cutoff Threshold Decisions for Classification Algorithms with Risk Aversion
Volume 19, Issue 1, March 2022


Two finalist publications:

William N. Caballero, Roi Naveiro, David Ríos Insua
Modeling Ethical and Operational Preferences in Automated Driving Systems
Volume 19, Issue 1, March 2022

Colin Small, J. Eric Bickel
Model Complexity and Accuracy: A COVID-19 Case Study
Volume 19, Issue 4, December 2022

2022 Award Selection Committee:
Gilberto Montibeller (Chair), Kara Morgan, and Jason Merrick

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2021


Gary J. Summers
Friction and Decision Rules in Portfolio Decision Analysis
Volume 18, Issue 2, June 2021


Yucheng Dong, Yao Li, Ying He, Xia Chen
Preference–Approval Structures in Group Decision Making: Axiomatic Distance and Aggregation
Volume 18, Issue 4, December 2021

2021 Award Selection Committee:
Saurabh Bansal and Robert Bordley (co-chairs)

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2020


Jeffery L. Guyse, L. Robin Keller, Candice H. Huynh
Valuing Sequences of Lives Lost or Saved Over Time: Preference for Uniform Sequences
Volume 17, Issue 1, March 2020


Jay Simon, Donald Saari, L. Robin Keller
Interdependent Altruistic Preference Models
Volume 17, Issue 3, September 2020

2020 Award Selection Committee:
Saurabh Bansal (chair), Andrea Hupman, and Gilberto Montibeller

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2019


Yuyu Fan, David V. Budescu, David Mandel, Mark Himmelstein
Improving Accuracy by Coherence Weighting of Direct and Ratio Probability Judgments
Volume 16, Issue 3, September 2019


Mark Schneider , Cary Deck, Mikhael Shor, Tibor Besedeš, Sudipta Sarangi
Optimizing Choice Architectures
Volume 16, Issue 1, March 2019

Manel Baucells, Rakesh K. Sarin
The Myopic Property in Decision Models
Volume 16, Issue 2, June 2019

2019 Award Selection Committee:
Andrea Hupman (chair), Robert Bordley, John Butler, and Eva Regnier

  • The Clemen-Kleinmuntz Decision Analysis Best Paper Awardees for 2018
Bin Mai, Shailesh Kulkarni
When Hackers Err: The Impacts of False Positives on Information Security Games
Volume 15, Issue 2, June 2018
Robin L. Dillon, William J. Burns, Richard S. John
Insights for Critical Alarm-Based Warning Systems from a Risk Analysis of Commercial Aviation Passenger Screening 
Volume 15, Issue 3, September 2018
2018 Award Selection Committee:
Victor Richmond Jose (chair), Eva Regnier, and Matthias Seifert