Decision Analysis Publication Award

The Decision Analysis Society Publication Award is given annually to the best decision analysis journal article or book published in the second preceding calendar year, as judged by an award committee. For example, publications appearing in the year 2022 would be eligible for consideration in the year 2024. Eligibility is determined by the date on which the publication appeared in print or, for online-only journals, the date on which it was published online by the journal. For this award, decision analysis is defined as a prescriptive approach to provide insight for decision making based on axioms that are logically consistent with the axioms of von Neumann and Morgenstern and of Savage. Key constructs of decision analysis are utility to quantify one’s risk preferences and probability to quantify the state of one's knowledge.

The intent of the award is to recognize the best publication in decision analysis. Contributions could include, but are not limited to, theoretical, methodological, and procedural contributions to decision analysis, descriptions of applications and experimental studies. Publications addressing behavioral aspects of decision making are eligible if the relevance to the theory or practice of prescriptive decision analysis is clear.

Nominated publications will be judged for significance, relevance, originality, and readability. The award includes an honorarium of $750 and a plaque.


Application Process

Submission deadline: June 30, 2024

We are accepting nominations for the Decision Analysis Society's Publication Award. Papers or books published in 2022 are eligible. Please submit your nomination(s) by email to the committee chairs.
A complete nomination consists of the following:
  • Author's name(s)
  • Full journal citation or book title
  • Copy of the publication, preferably in electronic form
  • Strongly encouraged: A short statement (1 page or less) summarizing why the publication should be considered for the award
  • Optional: Testimonials by those who have benefited from the work
Self-nominations are permissible. The Publication Award Committee members may also nominate publications.


2024 Prize Chairs

Alessandra Cillo (

Asa Palley (

Congratulations to the 2023 Winners

  • Ying He (2021). Revisiting Ellsberg's and Machina's paradoxes: a two-stage evaluation model under ambiguity. Management Science, 67(11), 6897-6914.


  • Mark Himmelstein, Pavel Atanasov, & David V. Budescu, (2021). Forecasting forecaster accuracy: Contributions of past performance and individual differences. Judgment and Decision Making, 16(2), 323-362.
  • Lawrence Blume, David Easley, & Joseph Y. Halpern, (2021). Constructive decision theory. Journal of Economic Theory, 196, 105306.

Click here for a complete listing of past awardees.