Decision Analysis Practice Award


Are you a decision analysis practitioner who has done some outstanding decision analysis?  Has it made a significant difference in a critical decision?  Would you like to be recognized for your contribution?  If so, please consider competing for the 2023 Decision Analysis Practice Award.

The Decision Analysis Practice Award is sponsored jointly by the Decision Analysis Society and the Society of Decision Professionals. This annual award is given to the best decision analysis application, as judged by a panel of members of both Societies, during the annual INFORMS conference. The award includes a cash prize and assistance in getting the work published in a suitable journal, if the winner so desires. The winner is invited to present their work at the SDP Annual Conference & Workshops in the following spring. 

Submission deadline: Sept 6th, 2023

Application Process

  • By Sept 6th, applicants submit a nomination form that includes an abstract, project details, and client testimonial (see below)
  • By September 15, the Award Committee will select three finalists.
  • During the Week of October 10, the three finalists will present their work to the committee in a webinar that will be open to members of both societies.
  • The winner will be announced at the 2023 INFORMS Annual Meeting, scheduled for October 15-18, 2023, in Phoenix, Arizona


For this award, decision analysis is broadly defined based on the definition used for publication in the INFORMS journal Decision Analysis (

The Award Committee will consider the following criteria:
1) Clear framing of the decision using the principles of decision theory
2) Quality and originality of the decision analysis techniques employed
3) Centrality of the analysis to the client's decision-making process, taking into account the importance of the problem
4) Benefits and importance of the decision analysis to the client, stakeholders, and the public
5) Description of any next steps for the analysis

Submitters are responsible for obtaining any company or agency clearances necessary to allow presentation of the work. Aspects of the application or results may be disguised as necessary to preserve confidentiality, provided that the material that is disclosed is sufficient to allow evaluation of the work. We encourage co-authored submissions where appropriate.

Submission instructions

If you have any questions, please contact any of the award co-chairs:

Nadia Papamichail (

Gilberto Montibeller (

2023 Winners:

  • Mónica Duarte Oliveira, Carlos António Bana e Costa, and Ana Vieira with the project "Fostering participation and knowledge construction processes in real settings through decision analysis and collaborative value modelling"
  • Saurabh Bansal with the project "A Decision Support for Portfolio Capital Allocation for Internal Capital Market at Dow Chemicals"
  • Ralph Keeney Thomas S. Palley, Victor Richmond R. Jose, Asa Palley and Mario Juric with the project "A Multiattribute Decision Model to Evaluate Potential Investments in Near-Earth Object Detection Technologies"

2022  Winners:

  • Martine J. Barons (University of Warwick), David Underdown (The National Archives) and Thais Fonseca (UFRJ Rio de Janeiro) with the project " Safeguarding a National Digital Memory: a Bayesian Decision Model of Digital Preservation Risk”

Click here for a complete listing of past awardees.