Advances in Decision Analysis 2019

We are pleased to announce Advances in Decision Analysis 2019, a conference organized by the Decision Analysis Society of INFORMS. This conference—the third of its kind—will be held June 19-21, 2019 at Bocconi University, Milan, Italy.

The conference aims to bring together scientists working in decision analysis, broadly defined. The conference will provide a platform for interdisciplinary discussions and will include talks by researchers in decision analysis, behavioral economics, judgment and decision-making, machine learning, statistics, and other related disciplines with a prescriptive focus.

We are excited about our keynote speakers: Robyn S. Wilson from Ohio State University, Massimo Marinacci from Bocconi University, and Cynthia Rudin from Duke University.

To register

Searchable conference schedule:!/6829

The conference will start on Wednesday June 19th 2019 with a full day program (morning and afternoon), will continue on Thursday June 20th (morning and afternoon) and will close at 13.00 of June 21st 2019.  A conference dinner will be held on June 20th 2019.


The conference will be hosted at Bocconi University in Milan and supported by the IGIER and BIDSA research centres of Bocconi University.  See this Bocconi University page for a map of the conference location.  Most conference events will take place in Buildings 1 and 2.  Registration will be in the Bocconi Conference Center, Via Roentgen 1, floor –2.  The welcome ceremony will be right nearby in room AS02.

We hope you will join us at the Advances in Decision Analysis 2019 Conference to enjoy the research talks and take in the sights of the wonderful city of Milan!

Please contact the conference organizers at if you have any questions.

Key Dates (preliminary, subject to slight changes)

January 10, 2019: Deadline for abstract submission
January 30, 2019: Abstract acceptance
May 1, 2019: Final date for abstract changes
May 19, 2019: Early registration deadline & refund deadline

Conference Fees

Member Preregistration: $450
Member Late Registration: $475
Non-Member Preregistration: $475
Non-Member Late Registration: $520
Student/Retired Preregistration: $150

The fees will include lunches and the conference dinner.


Bocconi University was established as a private, independent, non-profit university in 1902, and was the first Italian institution of higher education to grant a degree in economics. Today, Bocconi is internationally renowned as a point of reference in teaching and research in the fields of economics and business with a world-class faculty and a diverse student population.

ADA2019-1.jpg ADA2019-2.jpg ADA2019-3.jpg ADA2019-4.jpg
Bocconi University in Milan Milan Cathedral and  Famous Gallery

Milan is a cosmopolitan and modern city that combines the best of Italy’s past and present, while keeping a sharp eye on the future. Due to its geographical position in the North of Italy, it represents a gateway to Europe and is close to a multitude of other interesting Italian cities and attractions. It is rich in art, history and culture, such as the world-renowned La Scala opera house, the huge gothic Cathedral Duomo, the medieval Castello Sforzesco and Leonardo Da Vinci’s Last Supper.


For accommodation, below you can find a list of hotels close to the conference venue.  Given the high demand, it is suggested to start the booking process as soon as possible.

Conference Organizing and Scientific Committees

General Chair(s): Emanuele Borgonovo (Bocconi University) and Jason Merrick (VCU).

Scientific Committee: Ali Abbas (University of Southern California), Terje Aven (University of Stavanger), Erin Baker (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Manuel Baucells (University of Virginia), Aurellien Baillon (Erasmus University), Tim Bedford (University of Strathclyde), Debarun Bhattacharjya (IBM), Han Bleichrodt (Erasmus University), Enrico Diecidue (INSEAD), James Dyer (University of Texas Austin), Gordon Hazen (Northwestern University), L. Robin Keller, (UC Irvine), Victor Jose (Georgetown University), Casey Lichtendahl (University of Virginia), Kevin McCardle (UCLA), Alec Morton (University of Strathclyde), Bob Nau (Duke University), David Rios Insua (ICMAT), Ahti Salo (Aalto University), Rakesh Sarin (UCLA), Ross Shachter (Stanford University), Refik Soyer (George Washington University), Roman Slowinski (Poznan University of Technology), James Smith (Duke University), Jack Soll (Duke University), Ilia Tsetlin (INSEAD), Canan Ulu (Georgetown University), Peter Wakker (Erasmus University), Bob Winkler (Duke University), George Wu (University of Chicago), Jun Zhuang (University at Buffalo), Enrico Zio (Centrale Supelec Paris).

Organizing Committee: Emanuele Borgonovo (Bocconi University), John Butler (University of Texas Austin), Yael Grushka-Cockayne (University of Virginia), Karen Jenni (U.S. Geological Survey), Melissa Kenney (University of Maryland), Jason Merrick (VCU), Jay Simon (American University).