MSOM Distinguished Fellows Award

Call for Nominations for the 2024 MSOM Distinguished Fellows Award 

The MSOM Society of INFORMS is now accepting nominations for the 2024 MSOM Distinguished Fellows Award. Selection as an MSOM Fellow should be considered a rare distinction, comparable with membership in Omega Rho (The Honors Society of INFORMS). Teaching and service contributions are not considered in the selection process. 
Nominations are to be submitted electronically to Lingxiu Dong ( by March 24th, 2024. 

Please take note of the following two important points: 

  1. As stipulated in the Fellows founding document, a candidate, an MSOM member, must be nominated by at least two MSOMsociety members. The nomination should include letters of support from each nominator. 

  1. The committee will only consider those candidates nominated this cycle. People who nominated a candidate in some previous cycle should submit their nomination again if they wish the candidate to be considered this cycle. 

This selected Fellow(s) will be announced in the business meeting at the 2024 MSOM Summer Conference to be held at the University of Minnesota in July 2024. The Fellow(s) will be invited to make a presentation at the conference. 

The following MSOM Distinguished Fellows have been elected in the past: 

2023: Amy Ward 
2022: Panos Kouvelis 
2021: Georgia Perakis and Brian Tomlin 
2020: Jayashankar Swaminathan 
2019: Charles Corbett, Linda Green, and Avishai Mandelbaum 
2018: Ed Kaplan and Serguei Netessine 
2017: Jeannette Song, Sridhar Tayur, and Beril Toktay 
2016: Christian Terwiesch 
2015: Martin Lariviere and Christopher Tang 
2014: Uday Karmarkar, Robin Roundy, and Matt Sobel 
2013: John Birge, Guillermo Gallego, and David Simchi-Levi 
2012: Paul Kleindorfer, Jan Van Mieghem, and Ward Whitt 
2011: Gerard Cachon and Peter Kolesar 
2010: Steven Nahmias 
2009: Gabriel Bitran, Aleda Roth, and Luk van Wassenhove 
2008: Sven Axsäter, J. Michael Harrison, and John (Jack) Muckstadt 
2007: Garrett van Ryzin 
2006: Linus Schrage and Harvey Wagner 
2005: Warren Hausman, Wallace Hopp, and Bill Maxwell 
2004: Morris Cohen and Awi Federgruen 
2003: Lawrence Wein 
2002: Marshall Fisher and Evan Porteus 
2001: Ken Baker, Hau Lee, and Paul Zipkin 
2000: John Buzacott, Steve Graves, and Ed Silver