ICS Distinguished Service Award

ICS Distinguished Service Award

ICS Distinguished Service Award: Nominations due July 1, 2024. 

The INFORMS Computing Society (ICS) invites nominations for its 2024 Distinguished Service Award. The ICS Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual in recognition of their impact on the INFORMS Computing Society (ICS). The Award is intended to be a "lifetime achievement" award. It is given at most once every two years. The award will be presented at the ICS Business Meeting during the 2024 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Seattle, October 20-23, 2024. If attending in person, the winner is expected to make his/her own travel arrangements to the INFORMS meeting. For more details on this award, see 


The deadline for nominations is 11:59 pm EDT, July 1, 2024.

A candidate nominated for the award must satisfy the following criteria: 

  1. Member of ICS for five years. 
  2. Major contributor to ICS and its objectives. 
  3. Not a previous recipient of this award. 

The nomination must make the case that the candidate achieved multiple results that benefited ICS (or its predecessor organizations, CSTS and CS SIG).  

Each nomination must be accompanied by a letter from an ICS member that presents a case based on the nominee's service. Self-nominations are not permitted.  

All nominations and inquiries should be sent electronically to ics.service.award@gmail.com by 11:59 pm EDT, July 1, 2024. All submissions will be acknowledged by the committee chair.  

The 2024 Distinguished Service Award Committee members are: 

    John Chinneck, Chair (Carleton University)
    Karla Hoffman (George Mason University)
    David Woodruff (University of California, Davis)
    Merve Bodur, ICS VP (University of Edinburgh)

    Previous winners are 

    Click here for citations and committees: 2019-2009-2017

    2021 David L. Woodruff, University of California, Davis

    2019 Allen Holder

    2017 John W. Chinneck

    2015 Richard S. Barr

    2013 Ramesh Sharda

    2011 Bruce Golden

    2009 Karla L. Hoffman