ICS Prize

INFORMS Computing Society (ICS) Prize

ICS Prize Announcement: Nominations due July 1, 2024

The INFORMS Computing Society (ICS) Prize is an annual award for the best English language paper or group of related papers dealing with the Operations Research/Computer Science interface. The award is accompanied by a certificate and a $1,000 honorarium. The award will be presented at the ICS Business Meeting at the 2024 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Seattle, October 20-23, 2024. 

The goals of the prize are:
* To promote the development of high-quality work advancing the state of the art in the operations research/computer science interface;
* To publicize and reward the contributions of those authors/researchers who have advanced the state of the art; and
* To increase the visibility of excellent work in the field.

Conditions for eligibility:
* Published in the open literature;
* Pertinent to the interface of operations research and computer science;
* Written in English.

Nomination process:
The nomination package should consist of a cover letter and a copy of each nominated work. The cover letter should provide the title, author's name, place and date of publication as well as a justification for the nomination. If the nominated papers include multiple authors, then all authors will be considered for the prize, unless justification is provided for the exclusion of some authors. Self-nominations are allowed but discouraged. All nominations and inquiries should be sent electronically to ics.prize.award@gmail.com by 11:59 pm EDT, July 1, 2024. All submissions will be acknowledged.  

The 2024 ICS Prize Committee members: 

Simge Küçükyavuz, Chair (Northwestern University)

George Lan (Georgia Tech)

Nick Sahnidis (Georgia Tech and The Optimization Firm)

Juan Pablo Vielma (Google Research)

Previous winners are

Click here for citations and committees: 2022-, 2017-2021, 2012-2016, 2007-2011, 2002-2006, Earlier

2023 Alberto del Pia and Aida Khajavirad

2022 Saeed Ghadimi, Guanghui Lan, and Hongchao Zhang

2021 Adolfo R. Escobedo, Erick Moreno-Centeno, Christopher Lourenco, and Timothy Alden Davis

2020 Samuel Burer and Renato D. C. Monteiro2019 William E. Hart, Carl D. Laird, Jean-Paul Watson, David L. Woodruff, Gabriel A. Hackebeil, Bethany L. Nicholson, and John Siirola

2018 James V. Burke, Frank E. Curtis, Adrian S. Lewis, and Michael L. Overton

2017 Shabbir Ahmed, George Nemhauser, and Juan Pablo Vielma

2016 Iain Dunning, Joey Huchette, and Miles Lubin

2015 Suvrajeet Sen, Dinakar Gade, Julia Higle, Simge Küçükyavuz, Lewis Ntaimo, and Hanif Sherali

2014 Jim Ostrowski, Jeff Linderoth, Fabrizio Rossi, and Stefano Smriglio

2013 John Gunnar Carlsson

2012 A.A. Ahmadi, A. Olshevsky, P. A. Parrilo, and J. N. Tsitsiklis

2011 Dorit Hochbaum

2010 Jesús A. De Loera, Jon Lee, Peter N. Malkin, Susan Margulies, and Shmuel Onn

2009 Andreas Waechter and Lorenz Biegler

2008 Robert W. Day and S. Raghavan

2007 J. Csirik, D. S. Johnson, C. Kenyon, J.B. Orlin, P.W. Shor, and R.R. Weber

2006 John Drew, Diane L. Evans, Andrew G. Glen, and Lawrence Leemis

2005 Zhiwei Fu, Bruce L. Golden, Shreevardhan Lele, S. Raghavan, and Edward A. Wasil 

2004 Nikolaos V. Sahinidis and Mohit Tawarmalani

2003 Ignacio Grossmann

2002 Pascal Van Hentenryck

2001 Renato D.C. Monteiro, Yin Zhang

2000 Janos Pinter

1999 Yair Censor, Stavros A. Zenios

1998 Ding-Zhu Du, Frank K. Hwang

1997 Dmitri P. Bertsekas, John N. Tsitsiklis

1996 Warren Adams, Hanif Sherali

1995 John Forrest, Donald Goldfarb

1994 Fred Glover

1993 Robert Fourer, David Gay, Brian Kernighan

1992 Irvin Lustig, Roy Marsten, Nimrod Megiddo, David Shanno

1991 John Hooker

1988 Alex Meeraus

1987 Fred Glover, Darwin Klingman, Marcel Neuts

1986 Harvey Greenberg