Section Award

The INFORMS RMP Section Prize Committee requests nominations for the 2019 RMP Section Prize 

The INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize is awarded for the best contribution to the science of pricing and revenue management published in English. The award includes a plaque and a cash prize. The total cash prize is $1000 that is shared equally among the winners. The award is given each year at the INFORMS Annual Meeting if there is a suitable recipient. Papers that are eligible may be resubmitted the next year. Published work must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the INFORMS RMP Section Prize:

  • It must be in the form of a paper, a book, or a group of papers or books. It must be on the topic of pricing/revenue management.
  • It must have been published in one of the preceding five years or, in the case of a group, at least one member of the group must have been published in one of those years. For example, for the prize awarded in the year 2019, at least one of the publications must have appeared in one of the years 2014 through 2019. 
  • It must be written in the English language.
  • It must have appeared in the open literature.
  • Authorship in all submitted material (i.e., group of papers and/or books) is required to be considered for the award.

Books or papers may be case histories, reports of research representing new results, or primarily synthesis. For any nominated set (a group of either articles or books) published over more than one year, it is expected that each element in the set is part of one continuous effort, such as a multi-year project or a continuously written, multi-volume book.

The committee consists of 4 members, including a chair, each serving on the committee for 2 years if possible.

To be eligible for consideration, each book or paper must be nominated to the committee. Anyone may make nominations (including self-nominations). The Committee will use the following criteria in making judgments:

  • The extent to which the contribution advances the state of the art of pricing and revenue management.
  • The originality of the ideas or methods.
  • The new areas of application it opens up.
  • The degree to which existing theory or method is unified or simplified. 
  • The clarity and excellence of the exposition. 
  • The degree to which the contribution provides value for future applications, or enables improved practice

Application Process

A nomination consists of:

  • A nominating letter specifying the work being nominated and explaining why it is deserving of the INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Award. Nominating letters must include the titles of paper(s) or book(s), author(s), and the place and date of publication. 
  • Supporting letters, if desired. Supporting statements bearing on the worth of the publication in terms of the six criteria above will be very helpful, but are not required. 
  • Four copies of the work. In the case of journal articles, it is sufficient to submit a PDF file containing the paper(s).

 The submission deadline is July 31, 2019. Nominations should be sent, or in the case of electronic submission, emailed to the chair of the committee at the address below. 

Whom to Contact

2019 Section Award Committee Chair:
René Caldentey
Booth School of Business
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL, 60637


Committee members:

  • Victor Araman (AUB)
  • Huseyin Topaloglu (Cornell)
  • Gabriel Weintraub (Stanford)

Update: 2019 Winner and Finalists

Winner: Paat Rusmevichientong (USC)

  • in recognition of his seminal research to the science and practice of Revenue Management & Pricing in the areas of assortment optimization and consumer choice modeling.
  • “Paat’s work is rigorous, deep and innovative, and has broaden our understanding on a number of fundamental issues ranging from the computational complexity of assortment optimization problems, to the challenges of developing efficient and implementable algorithms to solve them, to the needs of expanding the boundaries of traditional consumer choice theory to address its empirical limitations.”

Representative papers:

  • “Real-time optimization of personalized assortments” (MS 2014)
  • “The limit of rationality in choice modeling: Formulation, computation, and implications” (MS 2019)

Past Winners


Stefanus Jasin (University of Michigan)


Richard Ratliff (Sabre)
Garrett van Ryzin (Cornell Tech)
Gustavo Vulcano (Universidad di Tella, Argentina)


Arnoud den Boer,  CWI (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)  
Bert Swart,  CWI (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)


Vivek Farias, MIT  
Srikanth Jagabathula, NYU
Davavrat Shah, MIT


Sham M. Kakade, Microsoft  
Ilan Lobel, NYU
Hamid Nazerzadeh, USC




Omar Besbes, Columbia 


Yossi Aviv, Washington St. Louis
Amit Pazgal, Rice 


Huseyin Topaloglu, Cornell


Xin Chen, MIT
David Simchi-Levi, MIT


Costis Maglaras, Columbia
Assaf Zeevi, Columbia 


William L. Cooper, Minnesota
Tito Homem-de-Mello, Northwestern 
Anton J. Kleywegt, Georgia Tech


Robert L. Phillips, Nomis Solutions, Inc.


Guillermo Gallego, Columbia


Garrett J. van Ryzin, Columbia 
Kalyan T. Talluri, Pompeu Fabra