Section Award

The INFORMS RMP Section Prize Committee requests nominations for the 2021 RMP Section Prize 

The INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize is awarded for the best contribution to the science of pricing and revenue management published in English. The award includes a plaque and a cash prize. The total cash prize is $1000 that is shared equally among the winners. The award is given each year at the INFORMS Annual Meeting if there is a suitable recipient. Papers that are eligible may be resubmitted the next year. Published work must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the INFORMS RMP Section Prize:

  • It must be in the form of a paper, a book, or a group of papers or books. It must be on the topic of pricing/revenue management.
  • It must have been published in one of the preceding five years or, in the case of a group, at least one member of the group must have been published in one of those years. For example, for the prize awarded in the year 2021 at least one of the publications must have appeared in one of the years 2016 through 2021. 
  • It must be written in the English language.
  • It must have appeared in the open literature.
  • Authorship in all submitted material (i.e., group of papers and/or books) is required to be considered for the award.

Books or papers may be case histories, reports of research representing new results, or primarily synthesis. For any nominated set (a group of either articles or books) published over more than one year, it is expected that each element in the set is part of one continuous effort, such as a multi-year project or a continuously written, multi-volume book.

To be eligible for consideration, each book or paper must be nominated to the committee. Anyone may make nominations (including self-nominations). The Committee will use the following criteria in making judgments:

  • The extent to which the contribution advances the state of the art of pricing and revenue management.
  • The originality of the ideas or methods.
  • The new areas of application it opens up.
  • The degree to which existing theory or method is unified or simplified. 
  • The clarity and excellence of the exposition. 
  • The degree to which the contribution provides value for future applications, or enables improved practice.

Application Process

A nomination consists of:

  • A nominating letter specifying the work being nominated and explaining why it is deserving of the INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Award. Nominating letters must include the titles of paper(s) or book(s), author(s), and the place and date of publication.
  • Supporting letters, if desired. Supporting statements bearing on the worth of the publication in terms of the six criteria above will be very helpful, but are not required. 
  • Either a PDF version of the work or four physical copies of the work, to be mailed directly to the committee members. Given the challenge of delivering physical goods during the current pandemic, fully electronic submissions are strongly preferred. For materials that need to be physically mailed, please ask the committee chair for mailing addresses.

The submission deadline is July 1, 2021. Nominations should be emailed to the chair of the committee at with the subject line "RMP Section Prize 2021".

Whom to Contact

2021 RMP Section Award Committee Chair:

Srikanth Jagabathula

New York University


Committee members:

  • Ming Hu (UToronto Rotman)
  • Jun Li (Michigan Ross)
  • Gustavo Vulcano (UTDT)

2020 Winner

Jun Li (Univ. of Michigan): For her innovative use of empirical methods to address difficult problems in pricing and revenue management, including the use of structural estimation to determine whether consumers are strategic and the use of field experiments to understand dynamic pricing under competition.

  • Body of Work:
    • Are Consumers Strategic? Structural Estimation from the Air-Travel Industry, Management Science 2014
    • Competition-Based Dynamic Pricing in Online Retailing: A Methodology Validated with Field Experiments, Management Science 2018

      Past Winners


      Paat Rusmevichientong (USC)


      Stefanus Jasin (University of Michigan)


      Richard Ratliff (Sabre)
      Garrett van Ryzin (Cornell Tech)
      Gustavo Vulcano (Universidad di Tella, Argentina)


      Arnoud den Boer,  CWI (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)  
      Bert Swart,  CWI (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)


      Vivek Farias, MIT  
      Srikanth Jagabathula, NYU
      Davavrat Shah, MIT


      Sham M. Kakade, Microsoft  
      Ilan Lobel, NYU
      Hamid Nazerzadeh, USC




      Omar Besbes, Columbia 


      Yossi Aviv, Washington St. Louis
      Amit Pazgal, Rice 


      Huseyin Topaloglu, Cornell


      Xin Chen, MIT
      David Simchi-Levi, MIT


      Costis Maglaras, Columbia
      Assaf Zeevi, Columbia 


      William L. Cooper, Minnesota
      Tito Homem-de-Mello, Northwestern 
      Anton J. Kleywegt, Georgia Tech


      Robert L. Phillips, Nomis Solutions, Inc.


      Guillermo Gallego, Columbia


      Garrett J. van Ryzin, Columbia 
      Kalyan T. Talluri, Pompeu Fabra