Khachiyan Prize

The Khachiyan Prize of the INFORMS Optimization Society was established in 2010 and is awarded annually at the fall INFORMS Annual Meeting to an individual or a team for life-time achievements in the area of optimization. The award recognizes a sustained career of scholarship from nominees who are still active at the year of the nomination. The prize serves as an esteemed recognition of innovativeness and impact in the area of optimization, including theory and applications. Recipients of the INFORMS John von Neumann Theory Prize or the MPS/SIAM Dantzig Prize in prior years are not eligible for the Khachiyan Prize.

The award includes a cash amount of $3,000 and a citation certificate. The award winner(s) will be invited to give a thirty minute presentation at the INFORMS National Meeting. The winners will be responsible for all travel expenses associated with the presentation of their paper at the INFORMS meeting. Award winners are also asked to contribute an article about their award-winning work to the Optimization Society newsletter.

Leonid Khachiyan

Using the ellipsoid algorithm, in 1979, Leonid Khachiyan was the first to prove that linear optimization can be solved in polynomial time. Read more about Leonid Khachiyan and the importance of his work in optimization.


The nominee(s) and their work must satisfy the following conditions:

  1. The Khachiyan Prize is awarded for outstanding life-time contributions to the field of optimization by an individual or team.
  2. The topic of the contribution must belong to the field of optimization in its broadest sense.
  3. Recipients of the INFORMS John von Neumann Theory Prize or the MPS/SIAM Dantzig Prize in prior years are not eligible for the Khachiyan Prize.
  4. The prize may be awarded once in a lifetime to any individual.

Nomination Process

A complete nomination consists of a single PDF file containing:

  1. A letter of nomination, not exceeding two pages, summarizing the nominee's contributions with explanations of their importance and impact;
  2. A curriculum vitae for the nominee, not exceeding four pages.

Nomination packages should be emailed to the chair of the prize committee.

Winners and committee members



Committee members


Monique Laurent
Renato Monteiro

Michel Goemans (chair), Karen Aardal, Yurii Nesterov, Stephen Wright


Daniel Bienstock
David Shmoys

Gerard Cornuejols (chair), Jorge Nocedal, Werner Romisch, Laurence Wolsey


Boris Polyak

Alex Shapiro (chair), Dimitris Bertsimas, Gerard Cornuejols, Stephen Wright


Stephen Wright
James Orlin

Jorge Nocedal (chair), Oktay Gunluk, Tamara Kolda, Alex Shapiro


Masakazu Kojima

Robert Vanderbei (chair), Don Goldfarb, Jean Lasserre, James Renegar


John N. Hooker,
James Renegar
Werner Römisch

Suvrajeet Sen (chair), Ignacio Grossmann, Arkadi Nemirovski, David Shmoys

2017 Robert Vanderbei

Gerald Brown (chair), Bill Cook, Andrzej Ruszczyński, and Yinyu Ye.


Aharon Ben-Tal

Tamás Terlaky (chair), Philip Gill, Dorit Hochbaum, Werner Römisch


Jean Bernard Lasserre

Ilan Adler (chair), Mike Ball, Don Goldfarb, Werner Römisch


Clóvis C. Gonzaga and Dimitri Bertsekas

Tamás Terlaky (chair), Daniel Bienstock, Immanuel Bomze, John Birge


Donald Goldfarb and Alexander Shapiro

Jorge Nocedal (chair), Michael Todd, Jean-Philippe Vial, Laurence Wolsey.


András Prékopa

Kurt Anstreicher (chair), Egon Balas, Claude Lemaréchal, Éva Tardos.


Kees Roos and Jean-Philippe Vial

George Nemhauser (chair), Yurii Nesterov, Lex Schrijver, Tamás Terlaky


George L. Nemhauser

Martin Groetschel, Arkadi Nemirovski, Panos Pardalos, Tamás Terlaky (chair)