Stephen J. Wright (Computer Science, University of Wisconsin at Madison) and James B. Orlin (Sloan School of Management, MIT) are selected as the winners of the 2020 INFORMS Optimization Society Khachiyan Prize

Citation for Stephen J. Wright

For his vast contributions to continuous optimization, spanning theory, algorithms and software, and the impact of his work on control, signal processing, and machine learning.

Citation for James B. Orlin

For his deep and extensive contributions to network flows and combinatorial optimization, including novel results for max flows, min cost flows, min cuts, and shortest cycles.

Prize committee

Jorge Nocedal (chair), Oktay Gunluk, Tamara Kolda, Alex Shapiro