The Section on Energy, Natural Resources, and the Environment (ENRE) is organized to:

  • promote the development and application of operations research / management science methods, techniques, and tools to the solution of problems relating to energy, natural resources and/or the environment,
  • encourage the exchange of information among practitioners and users in energy, natural resources, and environmental applications areas, and
  • promote the maintenance of high professional standards in the application of operations research/management science to problem areas in energy, natural resources, and/or the environment.

Best Paper Awards 2017

Every year, ENRE awards a number of prizes to recognise outstanding academic contributions in the field of Operations Research & Management Science with applications in energy, natural resources and the environment. The award winners were announced during the ENRE Business Meeting at the INFORMS Annual Meeting 2017 in Houston.

We congratulate the winners of the respective awards, and we would like to extend our thanks the chairs and members of the award committees for their important service to the community!

ENRE Best Student Paper

WinnerAbdul Quddus, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Mississippi State University
Manuscript: "Optimizing Electric Vehicle Charging Station Expansion with an Integration of Renewable Energy and Vehicle-to-Grid Sources", in review.

Committee Co-ChairsFelipe Feijoo, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso and Masood Parvania, University of Utah 

ENRE Young Researcher Prize

WinnerArda Yenipazarli, Department of Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Georgia Southern University.
Manuscript: "Managing new and remanufactured products to mitigate environmental damage under emissions regulation", European Journal of Operational Research, 249(1), 117-130, 2016.

CommitteeRamteen Sioshansi, Ohio State University (Chair), Hua Cai, Denys Yemshanov

ENRE Best Publication – Energy

Winners: Alvaro Lorca, X. Andy Sun, Eugene Litvinov and Tongxin Zheng
Manuscript: "Multistage adaptive robust optimization for the unit commitment problem", Operations Research, 64(1), 32-51, 2016.

CommitteeShmuel Oren, UC Berkeley (Chair), Andreas Ehrenmann, Golbon Zakeri

ENRE Best Publication – Natural Resources

Winners: Liying Mu, Milind Dawande, Xianjun Geng and Vijay Mookerjee.
Manuscript: "Milking the quality test: Improving the milk supply chain under competing collection intermediaries", Management Science, 62(5), 1259-1277, 2015.

Committee: Taraneh Sowlati, University of British Columbia (Chair), Robert Haight, Woodam Chung, Olivier Quirion-Blais

ENRE Best Publication – Environment and Sustainability

Winners: Erin Baker and Senay Solak.
Manuscript: "Management of energy technology for sustainability: how to fund energy technology research and development", Production and Operations Management, 23(3), 348-365, 2014.

Committee: Yihsu Chen, University of California Santa Cruz (Chair), Andrew Liu, Afzal Siddiqui

More information and past winners

We would like to congratulate the winners of the Awards in previous years! Read more...

"Society Spotlight" featuring ENRE in OR/MS Tomorrow, the INFORMS Student Magazine

OR-MS-Tomorrow-logo_cardlarge.pngOR/MS Tomorrow, the INFORMS Student Magazine, just published an issue on "Operation Research & Management in Energy and Environment". They feature a "Society Spotlight" article on ENRE laying on the mission and history of our section - and emphasising our commitment to provide an open and welcoming platform for students at the intersection of OR/MS, energy, and the environment!

Read the full article at https://www.informs.org/Publications/OR-MS-Tomorrow/Society-Spotlight-ENRE...

INFORMS Annual Meeting 2017 - Cluster Sessions

At every INFORMS Annual Meeting, ENRE chairs a number of streams, listed below. 

We would like to express our gratitude towards these dedicated individuals for providing this important service to our community!

Environment & Sustainability

Sandra D. Eksioglu, Clemson University (seksiog@clemson.edu)


Wei Yu, Colorado State University (yu.wei@colostate.edu)

Energy I – Electricity

Andy Sun, Georgia Tech (andy.sun@isye.gatech.edu)

Energy II – Energy

Amir Mousavian, Clarkson University (smousavi@clarkson.edu)

Natural Resources I – Mining

Alexandra Newman, Colorado School of Mines (anewman@mines.edu)

Natural Resources II – Petrochemicals

Marlize Meyer, Sasol (marlize.meyer@sasol.com

Our Community

Leadership & Officers

Antonio J. Conejo


Hayri Onal


Sauleh Siddiqui


Daniel Huppmann

Communications & Outreach

Read here for more info and contact details...