Home

The Section on Energy, Natural Resources, and the Environment (ENRE) is organized to:
  • promote the development and application of operations research / management science methods, techniques, and tools to the solution of problems relating to energy, natural resources and/or the environment,
  • encourage the exchange of information among practitioners and users in energy, natural resources, and environmental applications areas, and
  • promote the maintenance of high professional standards in the application of operations research/management science to problem areas in energy, natural resources, and/or the environment.

INFORMS 2019 Annual Meeting @ Seattle, Washington, October 20-23

Cluster Sessions
At every INFORMS Annual Meeting, ENRE organizes and sponsors a number of streams, listed below. Please get in touch with the chairs if you want to contribute a session or talk on a relevant subject at the next INFORMS meeting in 2019!

Environment & Sustainability
Zana  Cranmer, Bentley University (acranmer@bentley.edu

Forestry
Jordi Garcia-Gonzalo, Forest Sciences Centre of Catalonia (j.garcia@ctfc.es)

Energy I – Electricity

Energy II – Energy
Felipe Feijoo, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso (felipe.feijoo@pucv.cl)

Energy III
Benjamin D. Leibowicz, University of Texas at Austin (bleibowicz@utexas.edu)

Mining & Petrochemicals

We would like to express our gratitude towards these dedicated researchers & professionals for providing this important service to our community!


Best Paper Awards
Every year, ENRE awards a number of prizes to recognise outstanding academic contributions in the field of Operations Research & Management Science with applications in energy, natural resources and the environment. Nomination procedures and further details will be announced via the ENRE newsletter and mailing list.

ENRE Student Best Paper 
Committee Co-ChairsBoris Defourny, Lehigh University (defourny@lehigh.edu)  
                                                Krystel Castillo, UTSA (krystel.castillo@utsa.edu)

ENRE Early-Career Best Paper 

ENRE Best Publication – Energy
Committee Chair: Golbon Zakeri, The University of Auckland (g.zakeri@auckland.ac.nz)

ENRE Best Publication – Natural Resources
Committee Co-Chairs: Mohamad Hejazi, PNNL, (mohamad.hejazi@pnnl.gov)
                                                 Jing Liu, Purdue University, (liu207@purdue.edu)

ENRE Best Publication – Environment and Sustainability
Committee Chair: Andrew Liu, Purdue University, (andrewliu@purdue.edu)


More information and past winners
We would like to congratulate the winners of the Awards in previous years! Read more...

"Society Spotlight" featuring ENRE in OR/MS Tomorrow, the INFORMS Student Magazine
OR-MS-Tomorrow-logo_cardlarge.pngOR/MS Tomorrow, the INFORMS Student Magazine, just published an issue on "Operation Research & Management in Energy and Environment". They feature a "Society Spotlight" article on ENRE laying on the mission and history of our section - and emphasising our commitment to provide an open and welcoming platform for students at the intersection of OR/MS, energy, and the environment!

Our Community

Leadership & Officers

Hayri Önal

President

Miguel F. Anjos

President-elect

Sandra Ekşioğlu

Secretary-Treasurer

Kevin Melendez & Vignesh Subramanian

Communications & Outreach


Antonio Conejo

Past-President

Sauleh Siddiqui

Past Secretary-Treasurer

Daniel Huppmann

Past Communications & Outreach


Read here for more info and contact details...