ENRE Young Researcher Prize

ENRE Young Researcher Prize

The ENRE Young Researcher Prize is awarded annually at the INFORMS Annual Meeting to one or more young researcher(s) for an outstanding paper on the application of OR/MS to an important problem in energy, natural resources, or the environment.  The Prize serves as an esteemed recognition of promising researchers who are at the beginning of their academic or industrial career.


Winner: Kwon-gi Mun, Raza A. Rafique, Yao Zhao

Manuscript: Designing Hydro Supply Chains for Energy, Food and Flood


Honorable Mention:

Author: Luyi Gui.

Manuscript: Extended Producer Responsibility in Developing Economies: Design Incentives and Infrastructure Development.


Winner: Soongeol Kwon, Department of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering at Binghamton University, SUNY

Manuscript: Ensuring renewable energy utilization for sustainable and energy-efficient data center.

Committee ChairRamteen Sioshansi, Ohio State University


WinnerArda Yenipazarli, Department of Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Georgia Southern University.
Manuscript: Managing new and remanufactured products to mitigate environmental damage under emissions regulation, European Journal of Operational Research, 249(1), 117-130, 2016.

Committee ChairRamteen Sioshansi, Ohio State University


Winners: Daniel Huppmann (IIASA) and Sauleh Siddiqui (Johns Hopkins University).
"An exact solution method for binary equilibrium problems with compensation and the power market uplift problem". DIW Berlin Discussion Paper 1475, 2015.

Committee Chair: Steffen Rebennack, Colorado School of Mines

Winners from previous years

Click here for a full list of past recipients of the Young Researcher Award...

Nomination and deadlines

More information on nomination procedure, deadlines and the selection committee of each ENRE award will be sent out via the ENRE newsletter and mailing list a few months prior to the INFORMS Annual Meeting submission deadline.