Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations

2023 INFORMS Simulation Society's

Lifetime Professional Achievement Award


To recognize major contributions to the field of simulation that are sustained over most of a professional career, with the critical consideration being the total impact of those contributions on computer simulation, the INFORMS Simulation Society (I-Sim, has established the Lifetime Professional Achievement Award (LPAA).  This award can be given at most once annually.  An individual's contributions may fall in one or more of the following areas: 

  • contributions to research,
  • contributions to practice,
  • dissemination of knowledge,
  • development of software or hardware,
  • service to the profession, and 
  • advancement of the status or visibility of the field.

Anyone except current Award Committee members is eligible to win the award, although individuals selected for this award should normally be in or near their retirement. Persons cannot be nominated posthumously. A nomination will be fully considered in the year it was received. If unsuccessful the nominee will be reconsidered for up to two further years if not deceased. Once under consideration in a given year and if successful the award may be received posthumously. Nominations may be submitted by anyone (including self-nominations), but they may not be made anonymously. The burden of offering evidence of merit falls on the nominator. Each nomination should include:

  • the nominee's complete resumé;
  • a clear-cut, comprehensive description of the nominee's major contributions to the profession, with complete supporting documentation; and
  • at least three, but no more than six, letters of endorsement providing evidence of the significance and magnitude of the nominee's professional achievements. (Each endorsement letter must come from a single person.)

The committee may at its discretion widen those under consideration for the award to include other eligible persons who were not nominated under the nomination call process. 

The deadline for nominations is September 1, 2023. Nominators should alert the committee chair (Peter Glynn, of their forthcoming nomination at least one month prior to the deadline.  The nomination should be submitted as a PDF file attachment to an email to the committee chair. Any questions should be directed to the committee chair.  


A list of previous award recipients, and more details about the award process, can be found at past awardees.


This year's LPAA Award Committee consists of Peter Glynn (chair, Stanford University), Pierre L'Ecuyer (Universite de Montreal), and Barry Nelson (Northwestern University).