Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

To recognize individuals who have provided long-standing, exceptional service to the simulation community, the INFORMS Simulation Society annually sponsors a Distinguished Service Award, given to at most one person each year. This award is for sustained service to the simulation community over at least fifteen to twenty years or longer, and acquitted with distinction. The concept of service for this award does not include teaching or research contributions. Areas of volunteer service include, for example:

  • (i) elected offices in simulation societies;
  • (ii) editorial responsibilities such as area editor or editor-in-chief, for simulation;
  • (iii) responsibilities such as program chair, proceedings editor, general chair, or member of the program or organizing committee, for conferences involving simulation;
  • (iv) appointed positions for simulation-related activities, such as newsletter editor or serving on committees; and
  • (v) undertakings and actions that promote simulation.

Nominations for the award to be given in 2018 can be made by anyone and should be sent by September 1, 2018, to the Distinguished Service Award Committee Chair: 

Douglas Morrice
Professor of Supply Chain and Operations Management, The University of Texas at Austin 

The other committee members are Enver Yücesan (INSEAD) and John Fowler (Arizona State University). 

Each nomination should include:

  • the nominee's complete resumé;
  • a nomination letter identifying the nominee’s areas of exceptional service and detailing the activities for which the nominee is believed to deserve this award”
  • three letters of endorsement supporting the nomination and providing evidence of the nominee’s significant service contributions.

If given, the award will be presented at the Winter Simulation Conference, in Gothenburg, Sweden, December 9 – 12, 2018: http://www.wintersim.org

Click here for a list of previous award winners