Donald Goldfarb and Alexander Shapiro win the 2013 INFORMS Optimization Society Khachiyan Prize

Sanjay Mehrotra (left), Alexander Shapiro, and Donald Goldfarb.


Donald Goldfarb has made fundamental contributions to the field of continuous optimization through the design and analysis of innovative algorithms, including the celebrated BFGS quasi-Newton method for nonlinear optimization and the steepest edge simplex method for linear programming.

Alexander Shapiro has been one of the most prolific scholars in the field of Operations Research, contributing significantly to nonlinear analysis (specifically sensitivity and optimality), and to stochastic programming, where his work on complexity analysis and risk-averse decision making has been highly influential.

Selection Committee

Jorge Nocedal (Chair), Michael Todd, Jean-Philippe Vial, Laurence Wolsey.