Officers

Section Officers

Section Leadership (2021-2022) 

Weiwei Chen (Chair, 2021-22)
Department of Supply Chain Management
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: wchen@business.rutgers.edu

Guiping Hu (Vice Chair, 2021-22)
Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering
Iowa State University
Email: gphu@iastate.edu

Meng (Michael) Li (Secretary/Treasurer, 2021-22)
School of Business
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: meng.li@rutgers.edu

Board Members

The Board of the Section shall consist of the officers, the two past Chairpersons most recently retired from office and four additional Board members, each serving for a two-year period with two elected every year. Nominations for the Board will normally reflect the spectrum of disciplines and/or roles represented by Section members. The Board will constitute the governing body of the Section and will guide the officers in the administration of Section business.

Past Section Chairs in the Board

Elected Board Members

Paul R. Messinger (Past Chair, 2018-19)
School of Business
University of Alberta
Email: paul.messinger@ualberta.ca

Robin Qiu (Past Chair, 2017)
Professor of Information Science
Penn State University
Email: robinqiu@psu.edu

Kelly Lyons (2021-2022)
University of Toronto

Wai Kin (Victor) Chan
(2021-2022)
Tsinghua Shenzhen International Graduate School and Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute

Aly Megahed
(2020-2021)
IBM

Paul Maglio
(2020-2021)
University of California Merced

 

Advisory Council Members

The Advisory Council of the Section shall consist of between 4-9 members, who are senior leaders in the field of Service Science, Engineering and Practice to provide advice on the development of the Section. Serving on the Council is recognition of the individual's leadership and accomplishments in the field. The Council will overview the operation of the Section, provides advice on various activities, and support Section officers to run the Section effectively and efficiently. In general, the term of an Advisory Council member is three years. In each year, there will be three out-going members and three new members of the Advisory Council, appointed by the current or new Chairperson.

Terms 2019-2021

Terms 2020-2022

Terms 2021-2023

None Appointed

Roland Rust
University of Maryland

Saif Benjaafar
University of Minnesota
EIC of Service Science

To Be Announced

 

Past Section Officers

2020-2021 Office
(January-July) Ming-Hui Huang (Chair), Weiwei Chen (Vice Chair), Guiping Hu (Secretary/Treasurer)
(August-December) Weiwei Chen (Chair), Guiping Hu (Vice Chair), Paul R. Messinger (Secretary/Treasurer)

2018-2019 Office
Paul R. Messinger (Chair), Ming-Hui Huang (Vice Chair), Aly Megahed (Secretary/Treasurer)

2017 Office
Robin Qiu
(Chair, 2017), Paul R. Messinger (Vice Chair), Aly Megahed (Secretary/Treasurer)

2016 Office
Tor W. Andreassen (Chair), Robin Qiu (Vice Chair), Aly Megahed (Secretary/Treasurer)

2015 Office
P.K. Kannan (Chair), Tor W. Andreassen (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2014 Office
Ming-Hui Huang (Chair), P.K. Kannan (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2013 Office
Gregory R. Heim (Chair), Ming-Hui Huang (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2012 Office
Roland Rust (Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2011 Office
Grace Lin (Chair), Roland Rust (Vice Chair),Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)

2010 Office
Ralph D. Badinelli (Chair), Grace Lin (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2009 Office
Fugee Tsung (Chair), Ralph D. Badinelli (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2008 Office
Robin Qiu (Chair), Fugee Tsung (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2007 Founding Office
Robin Qiu (Chair), Fugee Tsung (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)

Founding Members

  1. Robin Qiu ( Penn State) robinqiu@psu.edu
  2. Richard Larson (MIT) rclarson@MIT.EDU
  3. Jim Spohrer (IBM) spohrer@almaden.ibm.com
  4. Seth Bonder (CEO of Vector Research) sbonder@comcast.net
  5. Steve Pollock (PMichigan) pollock@umich.edu
  6. Roland Rust ( Maryland) rrust@rhsmith.umd.edu
  7. Kathryn Stecke ( Texas - Dallas) kstecke@utdallas.edu
  8. Grace Lin  ( IBM) gracelin@us.ibm.com
  9. Stephen Nash (US NSF) snash@nsf.gov
  10. Suvrajeet Sen (Arizona) sen@sie.arizona.edu
  11. Julie Higle (Ohio State) higle.1@osu.edu
  12. Matthew Realff ( US NSF) mrealff@nsf.gov
  13. Terry Friesz (Penn State) tlf13@psu.edu
  14. Sounder Kumara ( Penn State) skumara@psu.edu
  15. Wayne Huang ( Ohio) huangw@ohio.edu
  16. Ruoyi Zhou (IBM) ruoyi@us.ibm.com
  17. Jim Tien (RPI) tienj@rpi.edu
  18. Ping Yu (Australia) ping@uow.edu.au
  19. Innar Liiv (Estonia) innar.liiv@ttu.ee
  20. Emmanuel Fragnière (Germany) emmanuel.fragniere@hesge.ch
  21. Ruijian Zhang (Purdue) Zhang@calumet.purdue.edu
  22. Chun Hung Checng ( Hong Kong) chcheng@se.cuhk.edu.hk
  23. Yingdong Lu (IBM) yingdong@us.ibm.com
  24. Victor Chan (RPI) chanw@rpi.edu
  25. Xiuli Chao (North Carolina State University)  xchao@unity.ncsu.edu
  26. David Simchi-Levi (MIT) dslevi@MIT.EDU
  27. Jeff Tew (GM) jeffrey.tew@gm.com
  28. Guoqing Zhang (Windsor) gzhang@uwindsor.ca
  29. Gabriel Lodewijks ( Delft University of Technology) g.lodewijks@wbmt.tudelft.nl
  30. Shigeki Sugiyama (Japan) sugiyama-shigeki@pref.gifu.lg.jp
  31. Rajit Gadh, (UCLA) gadh@winmec.ucla.edu
  32. Segev Wasserkrug (Israel) SEGEVW@il.ibm.com
  33. Yoo-Suk (Steve) Hong (Korea) yhong@snu.ac.kr
  34. Gregory Heim (Boston College) heimgr@bc.edu
  35. Armann Ingolfsson (Alberta) armann.ingolfsson@ualberta.ca
  36. Wei Jiang (Stevens) wjiang@stevens.edu
  37. Fugee Tsung (HKUST) season@ust.hk
  38. Brenda Dietrich (IBM) dietric@us.ibm.com
  39. Tugrul Daim (Portland State)  tugrul@etm.pdx.edu
  40. Antonie Jetter (Portland State) jettera@cecs.pdx.edu
  41. Richard Essigs (Director of Consumer Products Industry, Global Business Services) essigs@us.ibm.com
  42. Giovanni Righini (Italy) righini@dti.unimi.it
  43. Bill Hefley (CMU)  hefley@cmu.edu
  44. Stefan Holmlid (SWEDEN) steho@ida.liu.se
  45. Michael Piovoso (Penn State)
  46. Peggy Lee (Penn State)
  47. Sanjay Joshi (Penn State) sjoshi@psu.edu
  48. Enrique David Espinosa (México) enrique.espinosa@itesm.mx

Past Board Members
Robin Qiu (2014-2015)
Jim Spohrer (2014-2016)
Richard Larson (2014-2016)
Francesco Moresino (2013-2015)
Christoph Heitz (2013-2015)  
Haluk Demirkan (2013-2015)
Robin G. Qiu (2011-2013)
Roland Rust (2008-2011)
Richard Larson (2007-2010)
Jim Spohrer (2007-2010)
James Tien (2007-2010)
Avishai (Avi) Mandelbaum (2007-2009)
Brenda Dietrich (2007-2009)

Past Council Members

Sunil Mithas (2015-2016)
Roland Rust (2015-2016)
Ming-Hui Huang (2015-2016)
Tor Andreassen (2013-2014)
Ralph Badinelli (2013-2014)
Roland Rust (2013-2014)
Wei Jiang (2011-2012)
Sheneeta W. White (2011-2012)
Kwang-Jae Kim (2010-2011)
Haluk Demirkan (2010-2011)
Bill Hefley (2009-2010)
Sheneeta W. White (2009-2010)
Grace Lin (2008-2009)
Segev Wasserkrug (2008-2009)