Best Paper Award

Best Paper Award

Application Process

The AAS Best Paper Award is given once a year to an outstanding paper in the field of aviation applications. The paper must have been published in a refereed journal and must present innovative approaches for solving complex problems in aviation and air transportation, with an emphasis on operations research and quantitative methods. Any author must submit only one of his/her eligible papers. In addition, no individual may be a co-author on more than two papers submitted to the competition.

A paper is eligible for the competition if

  • its main topic is related to the field of aviation and air transportation;
  • it is written in English; and
  • it has been published, or appears in pre-print form online through the publishing agency, between June 1, 2019, and May 31, 2022. In the case of papers that are only available in pre-print form online at the time of consideration, the online publication date must be easily verifiable.

All topics related to the field of aviation and air transportation will be considered, including, but not being limited to:

  • aviation economics, operation concepts, and business models;
  • airline operations;
  • air traffic flow management and airspace management;
  • tactical air traffic control;
  • airport operations;
  • air transportation networks;
  • aircraft trajectory management;
  • UAS traffic management;
  • on-demand air mobility;
  • electric/hybrid aircraft operations;
  • drone delivery;
  • pilot, flight deck, or onboard decision-making models

The winning paper will be announced at the AAS business meeting to be held during the annual INFORMS meeting in October 2022 (at Indiana Convention Center, Indiana, USA). The authors of the winning paper will share a prize of $800, and each will receive a certificate.

To submit a paper for the 2022 competition, one of the authors must email the paper, along with a short cover letter (maximum one page) describing the merits of the paper, to the Chair of the AAS Best Paper Award Committee, on or before June 15, 2022, 11:59 pm US eastern time. Please use the following email address for submissions: (Email Subject: 2022 AAS Best Paper Award Application / Applicant name).

Disclaimer: each paper will be reviewed and scored by all five award committee members. The award committee members are not eligible for this year's award. We will enforce an unbiased review process.

2022 Committee Chair

Kai Wang
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

The other members of the committee are:

Max Z. Li
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Lishuai Li
Delft University of Technology
Delft, Netherlands

Virginie Lurkin

HEC Lausanne

Lausanne, Switzerland

Peng Wei
George Washington University
Washington, DC, USA


Past Winners


A Stochastic Integer Programming Approach to Air Traffic Scheduling and Operations

Kai Wang (CMU)
Alexandre Jacquillat (MIT)


A Large-Scale Neighborhood Search Approach to Airport Slot Allocation

Nuno Antunes Ribeiro (Singapore University of Technology and Design)
Alexandre Jacquillat (MIT)
António Pais Antunes (University of Coimbra)