Chuck ReVelle Rising Star Award

This award is a biennial honor awarded to a person within eight years of receiving his or her Ph.D. who has made a significant contribution to location analysis research and displays the potential to continue to do so. The award will be given every other year at the SOLA business meeting at the national INFORMS conference.

The committee will consider all contributions to the field of locational analysis when choosing a winner of the award. While research will carry the most significant weight (and will be assessed using multiple dimensions--number and significance of papers, book chapters, presentations, etc.), contributions to teaching and service will be taken into account as well. The committee will also strongly consider the nominee's potential to continue to do research that has a significant impact on the field of locational analysis.

The award will not carry a monetary prize but will be regarded as an extremely high honor within the locational analysis community. In addition, the winner will be given a complimentary registration to the INFORMS conference in the year following the award.

The award is named in honor of location analysis pioneer Charles ReVelle, who passed away in 2005. (Read Chuck's obituary in the New York Times here.)

The next Chuck ReVelle Rising Star Award will be offered in 2021. The announcement for the call for nominees will be made in April 2021 with an anticipated application deadline of June 15, 2021.

Award recipients