SOLA presents three awards to recognize outstanding individuals within the location analysis community.


Lifetime Achievement in Location Analysis Award 

The Lifetime Achievement in Location Analysis (LALA) award is a triennial honor awarded to a person who has made significant lifetime contributions to location analysis research. The award is given every third year at the closing dinner of ISOLDE, the International Symposium on Locational Decisions.

Award recipients

  • 2017 - Morton O'Kelly (The Ohio State University) 
  • 2014 - Mark Daskin (University of Michigan) & Gilbert Laporte (HEC Montreal)
  • 2012 - Richard Church (University of California at Santa Barbara) & Oded Berman (University of Toronto)
  • 2008 - George Wesolowsky (McMaster University)
  • 2005 - Zvi Drezner (California State University, Fullerton)
  • 2002 - Brian Boffey (University of Liverpool)
  • 1999 - Robert Love (McMaster University)
  • 1996 - Charles ReVelle (Johns Hopkins University) & Richard Francis (University of Florida)


Chuck ReVelle Rising Star Award

This award is a biennial honor awarded to a person within eight years of receiving his or her Ph.D. who has made a significant contribution to location analysis research and displays the potential to continue to do so. The award will be given every other year at the SOLA business meeting at the national INFORMS conference.

The committee will consider all contributions to the field of locational analysis when choosing a winner of the award. While research will carry the most significant weight (and will be assessed using multiple dimensions--number and significance of papers, book chapters, presentations, etc.), contributions to teaching and service will be taken into account as well. The committee will also strongly consider the nominee's potential to continue to do research that has a significant impact on the field of locational analysis.

The award will not carry a monetary prize but will be regarded as an extremely high honor within the locational analysis community. In addition, the winner will be given a complimentary registration to the INFORMS conference in the year following the award.

The award is named in honor of location analysis pioneer Charles ReVelle, who passed away in 2005. (Read Chuck's obituary in the New York Times here.)

Award recipients

  • 2017 - Sibel Alumur Alev (University of Waterloo)
  • 2015 - Ivan Contreras (Concordia University)
  • 2010 - Larry Snyder (Lehigh University)
  • 2008 - Zuo-Jun Max Shen (University of California, Berkeley)


SOLA Dissertation Award 

The SOLA Dissertation Award recognizes outstanding Ph.D. dissertations related to the field of location analysis. The price is awarded biennially and announced during the INFORMS annual meetings.

The latest call for submissions is for the dissertations completed between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2017. You may find the eligibility criteria and application guidelines for the submission here: SOLA Dissertation Award

The next call for submissions will be for the dissertations completed between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019. The announcement for the call for submissions will be made in 2020.  

(The award was formerly known as the UPS-SOLA Dissertation Award and SOLA-Air Products Dissertation Award.)

Award recipients

  • 2016 - Kien Trung Nguyen (Kaiserslautern University of Technology) & Marcus Sinnl (University of Vienna)
  • 2014 - Gemma Berenguer (UC-Berkeley)
  • 2012 - Gisela Bardossy (University of Maryland)
  • 2009 - Sebastian Velten (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
  • 2007 - Boglarka Toth (University of Almeria)
  • 2005 - Beryl Castello (Johns Hopkins University)
  • 2003 - Monica Gentili (Universita Di Roma)
  • 2001 - Bahar Yetis Kara (Bilkent University)
  • 1999 - David Mazu (Johns Hopkins University)
  • 1995 - Ana Isabel Martins Botto de Barros (Erasmus Universiteit)
  • 1993 - Russell Meller (University of Michigan)
  • 1992 - Ingrid Bongartz (University of Waterloo)
  • 1991 - Fernando Mata (Ohio State University)