Officers

Section Officers

Section Leadership (2017) 

Robin Qiu (Chair, 2017)
Professor of Information Science
Penn State University
Email: robinqiu@psu.edu

Paul Messinger (Vice Chair/Cluster Chair, 2017)
School of Business
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Canada
Email: paulm@ualberta.ca

Aly Megahed (Secretary/Treasurer, 2016-17)
IBM Almaden Research Center
San Jose, CA
Email: aly.megahed@us.ibm.com



Immediate Past Section Chairs on Council

Tor W. Andreassen (Past Chair, 2016)
Professor of Marketing, Director of Center for Service Innovation
Norwegian School of Economics
Email: tor.w.andreassen@bi.no

P.K. Kannan (Past Chair, 2015)
Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Marketing Science
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland

 

Council Members

The Council of the Section shall consist of the officers, the two past Chairpersons most recently retired from office and four Council Members, each serving for a two-year period with two elected every year. Nominations for the Council will normally reflect the spectrum of disciplines and/or roles represented by Section members. The Council will constitute the governing body of the Section and will guide the officers in the administration of Section business.

Terms end Dec. 31, 2017

Terms end Dec. 31, 2018

Ranganath Nuggehalli 
Principal Scientist
Operations Research Group
UPS

Rohit Verma
Singapore Tourism Board Distinguished Professor in Asian Hospitality Management
School of Hotel Administration
Cornell University

P.K. Kannan (Past Chair, 2015)
Ralphy J. Tyser Professor of Marketing Science
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland

Yingdong Lu
IBM

Roland Rust
University of Maryland

Tor W. Andreassen (Past Chair, 2016)
Professor of Marketing
Director of Center for Service Innovation
Norwegian School of Economics

 

Advisory Board Members

The Advisory Board of the Section shall consist of between 4-9 members, who are senior leaders in the field of Service Science, Engineering and Practice to provide advice on the development of Section. Serving on the advisory board is a recognition of the individual's leadership and accomplishments in the field. The board will overview the operation of the Section, provides advice on various activities, and support Section officers to run the Section effectively and efficiently.

Terms end
 Dec. 31, 2017

Terms end
 Dec. 31, 2018

Terms end
 Dec. 31, 2019

None Appointed

None Appointed

Jin Dong
IBM

Ming-Hui Huang
National Taiwan University

Richard Larson
MIT

 

Past Section Officers

2016 Office
Tor W. Andreassen (Chair), Robin Qiu (Vice Chair), Aly Megahed (Secretary/Treasurer)

2015 Office
P.K. Kannan (Chair), Tor W. Andreassen (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2014 Office
Ming-Hui Huang (Chair), P.K. Kannan (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2013 Office
Gregory R. Heim (Chair), Ming-Hui Huang (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2012 Office
Roland Rust (Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Vice Chair), Yingdong Lu (Secretary/Treasurer)

2011 Office
Grace Lin (Chair), Roland Rust (Vice Chair),Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2010 Office
Ralph D. Badinelli (Chair), Grace Lin (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2009 Office
Fugee Tsung (Chair), Ralph D. Badinelli (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2008 Office
Robin Qiu (Chair), Fugee Tsung (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)
 
2007 Founding Office
Robin Qiu (Chair), Fugee Tsung (Vice Chair), Gregory R. Heim (Secretary/Treasurer)

Founding Members

  1. Robin Qiu ( Penn State) robinqiu@psu.edu
  2. Richard Larson (MIT) rclarson@MIT.EDU
  3. Jim Spohrer (IBM) spohrer@almaden.ibm.com
  4. Seth Bonder (CEO of Vector Research) sbonder@comcast.net
  5. Steve Pollock (PMichigan) pollock@umich.edu
  6. Roland Rust ( Maryland) rrust@rhsmith.umd.edu
  7. Kathryn Stecke ( Texas - Dallas) kstecke@utdallas.edu
  8. Grace Lin  ( IBM) gracelin@us.ibm.com
  9. Stephen Nash (US NSF) snash@nsf.gov
  10. Suvrajeet Sen (Arizona) sen@sie.arizona.edu
  11. Julie Higle (Ohio State) higle.1@osu.edu
  12. Matthew Realff ( US NSF) mrealff@nsf.gov
  13. Terry Friesz (Penn State) tlf13@psu.edu
  14. Sounder Kumara ( Penn State) skumara@psu.edu
  15. Wayne Huang ( Ohio) huangw@ohio.edu
  16. Ruoyi Zhou (IBM) ruoyi@us.ibm.com
  17. Jim Tien (RPI) tienj@rpi.edu
  18. Ping Yu (Australia) ping@uow.edu.au
  19. Innar Liiv (Estonia) innar.liiv@ttu.ee
  20. Emmanuel Fragnière (Germany) emmanuel.fragniere@hesge.ch
  21. Ruijian Zhang (Purdue) Zhang@calumet.purdue.edu
  22. Chun Hung Checng ( Hong Kong) chcheng@se.cuhk.edu.hk
  23. Yingdong Lu (IBM) yingdong@us.ibm.com
  24. Victor Chan (RPI) chanw@rpi.edu
  25. Xiuli Chao (North Carolina State University)  xchao@unity.ncsu.edu
  26. David Simchi-Levi (MIT) dslevi@MIT.EDU
  27. Jeff Tew (GM) jeffrey.tew@gm.com
  28. Guoqing Zhang (Windsor) gzhang@uwindsor.ca
  29. Gabriel Lodewijks ( Delft University of Technology) g.lodewijks@wbmt.tudelft.nl
  30. Shigeki Sugiyama (Japan) sugiyama-shigeki@pref.gifu.lg.jp
  31. Rajit Gadh, (UCLA) gadh@winmec.ucla.edu
  32. Segev Wasserkrug (Israel) SEGEVW@il.ibm.com
  33. Yoo-Suk (Steve) Hong (Korea) yhong@snu.ac.kr
  34. Gregory Heim (Boston College) heimgr@bc.edu
  35. Armann Ingolfsson (Alberta) armann.ingolfsson@ualberta.ca
  36. Wei Jiang (Stevens) wjiang@stevens.edu
  37. Fugee Tsung (HKUST) season@ust.hk
  38. Brenda Dietrich (IBM) dietric@us.ibm.com
  39. Tugrul Daim (Portland State)  tugrul@etm.pdx.edu
  40. Antonie Jetter (Portland State) jettera@cecs.pdx.edu
  41. Richard Essigs (Director of Consumer Products Industry, Global Business Services) essigs@us.ibm.com
  42. Giovanni Righini (Italy) righini@dti.unimi.it
  43. Bill Hefley (CMU)  hefley@cmu.edu
  44. Stefan Holmlid (SWEDEN) steho@ida.liu.se
  45. Michael Piovoso (Penn State)
  46. Peggy Lee (Penn State)
  47. Sanjay Joshi (Penn State) sjoshi@psu.edu
  48. Enrique David Espinosa (México) enrique.espinosa@itesm.mx

Past Advisory Board

Robin Qiu (2014-2015)
Jim Spohrer (2014-2016)
Richard Larson (2014-2016)
Francesco Moresino (2013-2015)
Christoph Heitz (2013-2015)  
Haluk Demirkan (2013-2015)
Robin G. Qiu (2011-2013)
Roland Rust (2008-2011)
Richard Larson (2007-2010)
Jim Spohrer (2007-2010)
James Tien (2007-2010)
Avishai (Avi) Mandelbaum (2007-2009)
Brenda Dietrich (2007-2009)

Past Council Members

Sunil Mithas (2015-2016)
Roland Rust (2015-2016)
Ming-Hui Huang (2015-2016)
Tor Andreassen (2013-2014)
Ralph Badinelli (2013-2014)
Roland Rust (2013-2014)
Wei Jiang (2011-2012)
Sheneeta W. White (2011-2012)
Kwang-Jae Kim (2010-2011)
Haluk Demirkan (2010-2011)
Bill Hefley (2009-2010)
Sheneeta W. White (2009-2010)
Grace Lin (2008-2009)
Segev Wasserkrug (2008-2009)