Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award

Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award

The Health Applications Society of INFORMS sponsors the annual Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award, which recognizes a mid-career researcher for significant contributions to health applications of Operations Research and the Management Sciences (OR/MS). Named for Professor Sanjay Mehrotra and his wife in recognition of Professor Mehrotra's contributions and dedication to translating OR/MS into practice to improve the quality and efficiency of healthcare systems, the award will be presented at the Health Applications Society Business Meeting at the INFORMS annual meeting. Dr. Mehrotra is a professor in the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences at Northwestern University and has served on the editorial boards of numerous OR/MS journals. The award includes an honorarium of $1,000. The winner will also receive a certificate and a plaque; all other finalists will receive certificates.

The 2024 Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award Committee:

-        Tinglong Dai, Johns Hopkins University

-        Susan F. Lu (Chair), Purdue University

-        Sridhar Seshadri, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


- A demonstrable effort in translating OR/MS into practice

- Contributions to health applications of OR/MS, evidenced by measurable health-related outcomes

- Contributions to the advancement of OR/MS


Assistant/Associate Professor (tenure-track/tenured, or non-tenure-track) position in an academic institution (at the time of award presentation at the INFORMS annual meeting); or

Healthcare professional with less than fifteen years of experience since the terminating degree (at the time of the award presentation at this year’s INFORMS Annual Meeting).

In addition, the applicant must be a member of the Health Applications Society, and not be a previous winner of the Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award. Finalists from previous years may apply one more time to the competition with the caveat that:

  1. They must still meet all other eligibility requirements.
  2. They can only be finalists once. 
  3. They provide a paragraph indicating what has changed since their last application.

Application Process

A complete application must consist of the following documents submitted as PDF files:

         1. A curriculum vitae, which includes the applicant's complete educational and professional history with degree dates, and the applicant's complete research portfolio on health applications

         2. A personal statement no more than six pages in total consisting of the following three parts:

-        Part A: A 3-4 page statement (excluding the references cited in the document) that summarizes the applicant's use of OR/MS to address significant problems that arise in health systems, the developed solutions, the effort conducted for translating research results to practice, and the impact on practice (as demonstrated by measurable health-related outcomes)

-        Part B: A one-page statement describing the applicant’s future research goals in health applications

-        Part C: Written commitment, if selected as a finalist, to make a high quality, 30-minute presentation for the Sanjay and Panna Mehrotra Research Excellence Award session organized by the Health Application Society at the INFORMS annual meeting.

         3. Two letters from practitioners certifying the significance of the problems studied by the applicant and the practical impact of the applicant's research

         4. PDF of up to four representative manuscripts (published or under review) authored by the applicant 

All application materials including letters from practitioners should be submitted via email to the award committee chair, Professor Susan F. Lu ( by July 19, 2024. Letters from practitioners may be submitted separately to Professor Lu or combined as part of the application package.

Previous Recipients

Year   Recipient


2023 Nikos Trichakis

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Pengyi Shi

Purdue University

2022 Mariel Lavieri

University of Michigan

Jagpreet Chhatwal

Merck Research Laboratories

Nan Liu

Boston College

2021 David Papp

North Carolina State University

Jonas Oddur Jonasson 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Vishal Ahuja

Southern Methodist University

2020 Soroush Saghafian

Harvard Kennedy School

Carri Chan

Columbia University

Turgay Ayer

Georgia Institute of Technology