INFORMS Open Forum

Winners of the 2023 POMS College of SCM Best Student Paper Competition

  • 1.  Winners of the 2023 POMS College of SCM Best Student Paper Competition

    Posted 06-02-2023 09:50

    Winners of the 2023 POMS College of SCM Best Student Paper Competition

    The organizing committee received 36 submissions for the 2023 POMS College of Supply Chain Management (SCM) Student Paper Competition. We thank all the participants for their submissions. We used a two-round process to select the winners for the competition. In the first round, each submission was evaluated by multiple reviewers who were experts in the paper's subject matter. A total of four finalists were selected based on these evaluations. In the second round, each of the four finalists gave a paper presentation at a special session of the 2023 POMS Annual Conference, and their papers and presentation were evaluated by a jury of four faculty members. 

    We congratulate the winners of this year's competition and thank all the first-round reviewers and the jury members whose names are attached at the end of this announcement for their service.

    First Place (accompanied by a $500 honorarium): 
    Audrey Bazerghi (Northwestern University): Last Time Buys during Product Rollovers: Manufacturer and Supplier Equilibria (joint work with Jan A. Van Mieghem)

    Second Place (accompanied by a $250 honorarium): 
    Keno Theile (Kühne Logistics University): Supply Chain Risk and Resolution: An Empirical Study of Stock Market Reactions (joint work with Christian Hofer, Vinod R. Singhal, and Kai Hoberg)

    Two Honorable Mentions (accompanied by a $100 honorarium): 
    Ragip Gurlek (Emory University): How Much did Store Closures Boost Online Sales during COVID-19? (joint work with Diwas S. KC and Paolo Letizia)

    Leann Thayaparan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology): UMOTEM: Upper Bounding Method for Optimizing over Tree Ensemble Models and its Applications in Pricing and Supply Chain (joint work with Georgia Perakis)

    1st-round Reviewers: Jiaru Bai, Robert Bray, Junyu Cao, George Chen, Wang Chi Cheung, So Yeon Chun, Yao Cui, Fei Gao, Sanjith Gopalakrishnan, Vishal Gupta, Bin Hu, Dan Iancu, Aditya Jain, Michael Kim, Guangwen Kong, Stanley Lim, Sheng Liu, Mengshi Lu, Vidya Mani, Sami Najafi, Karthik Natarajan, Jie Ning, Wei Qi, Nikos Trichakis, Joline Uichanco, Iris Wang, Shouqiang Wang, Yimin Wang, Yehua Wei, Jing Wu, Yuqian Xu, Luyi Yang, Safak Yucel.

    2nd-round Jury Members: Jan Fransoo, Joel Goh, Lauren Lu, Nicholas Petruzzi.

    Shiliang (John) Cui & Joel Goh
    Competition Co-Chairs

    Stanley Lim
    Assistant Professor
    Michigan State University
    East Lansing MI