Home

Welcome to the website of the Railway Applications Section (RAS), a forum to bring together practitioners, consultants, and academics interested in applying operations research and management science (OR and MS) techniques to the railroad industry. Most of the content can be found in the menus above. Note that some content, such as presentations from past meetings, requires membership in RAS and that you are logged in to INFORMS Connect with your INFORMS user ID.



Thanks for a GREAT 2019 Annual Meeting!

Find out more in our 2019 newsletter HERE.


Competitions

Consider participating in our annual rails-related competitions for prizes and distinction.

2020 RAS Problem Solving Competition - Problem announced!!
2020 RAS Student Paper Competition - Call for Papers!!
2020 RAS Poster Competition - Call for Participants!!


Learn about our 2019 competitions at:

2019 RAS Problem Solving Competition Announcement

2019 Student Paper Award Announcement


INFORMS 2020 Annual Meeting - RAS Cluster
Call for Presentations


2020 Current Officers

Chair: Nathaniel Richmond, Keurig Dr Pepper (Nathaniel.Richmond@kdrp.com)

Vice Chair: Steve Tyber, Wabtec (steve.tyber@wabtec.com)

Secretary: Jianqiu Huang, Wabtec (jianqiu.huang@wabtec.com)

Treasurer: Hadi Karimi, BNSF Railway (hadi.karimi@bnsf.com)

PR Officer: Andrea Arias, BNSF Railway (andrea.ariasllorenty@bnsf.com)


2020 Student Officers

Zhoutong Jiang, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (zjiang30@illinois.edu)

Marko Kapetanović, TU Delft (M.Kapetanovic@tudelft.nl)

Jiaxi Zhao, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (jiaxiz3@illinois.edu)

Follow US ON

Find Us on Facebook Join Us on LinkedIn

 

            

Thank you to our sponsors for 2019:


Gold Sponsors
logo-bnsf.jpg
logo-csx.jpg






Silver Sponsors

Tiger_Analytics_New_Logo.jpg