Home

FOLLOW US ON

Follow Us on Facebook   Join Us on LinkedIn  Join Us on YouTube

Welcome to the website of the Railway Applications Section (RAS), a forum to bring together practitioners, consultants, and academics interested in applying operations research and management science (OR and MS) techniques to the railroad industry. Most of the content can be found in the menus above. Note that some content, such as presentations from past meetings, requires membership in RAS and that you are logged in to INFORMS Connect with your INFORMS user ID.



Thanks for a GREAT 2021 Annual Meeting!

Find out more in our 2021 newsletter HERE.


Competitions

Consider participating in our annual rails-related competitions for prizes and distinction. We'll release the calls for participants soon. Stay tuned!

Check out previous competitions in the "Competitions" tab.

2022 Student Paper Competition - Call for participants
2022 RAS Problem Solving Competition - Problem Announced!!


CORS - INFORMS International 2022 - RAS Session
Session Chair: Armin Jabbarzadeh, ETS Montreal (Armin.Jabbarzadeh@etsmtl.ca)



INFORMS 2022 Annual Meeting - RAS Cluster
Chair: Alexander Lovett (ahlovett@up.com)
Co-chair: Shuai Su (shuaisu@bjtu.edu.cn
Co-chair: Yanshuo Sun (y.sun@eng.famu.fsu.edu


2022 RAS Officers

Chair: Andrea Arias, BNSF Railway (andrea.ariasllorenty@bnsf.com)

Vice Chair: Nikola Besinovic, TU Delft (N.Besinovic@tudelft.nl

Secretary: Jay Baillargeon, FRA, U.S. Dept. of Transportation (jay.baillargeon@dot.gov)

Treasurer: Rajan Varadarajan, Norfolk Southern (V.Varadarajan@nscorp.com)

PR Officer: Faeze Ghofrani, Penn State Altoona (ghofrani.faeze@psu.edu)


2022 Student Officers

Saharnaz Nazari, Penn State (sun51@psu.edu)


Interested in volunteering? Contact us!

Thank you to our sponsors for 2021:


Gold Sponsors
logo-bnsf.jpg
logo-csx.jpg






Silver Sponsors

Tiger_Analytics_New_Logo.jpg