Home

Follow US ON

Find Us on Facebook Join Us on LinkedIn

 

            

Welcome to the website of the Railway Applications Section (RAS), a forum to bring together practitioners, consultants, and academics interested in applying operations research and management science (OR and MS) techniques to the railroad industry. Most of the content can be found in the menus above. Note that some content, such as presentations from past meetings, requires membership in RAS and that you are logged in to INFORMS Connect with your INFORMS user ID.



Thanks for a GREAT 2020 Annual Meeting!

Find out more in our 2020 newsletter HERE.


Competitions

Consider participating in our annual rails-related competitions for prizes and distinction.

2021 RAS Problem Solving Competition - Problem announced!! - Upcoming
2021 RAS Student Paper Competition - Call for Papers!! - Upcoming
2021 RAS Poster Competition - Call for Participants!! - Upcoming


Learn about our 2020 competitions at:
2020 RAS Problem Solving Competition - Problem announced!!
2021 RAS Student Paper Competition - Call for Papers!!



INFORMS 2021 Annual Meeting - RAS Cluster
Call for Presentations - Upcoming


2021 Current Officers

Chair: Steve Tyber, Stealth Startup (steve.tyber@gmail.com)

Vice Chair: Andrea Arias, BNSF Railway (andrea.ariasllorenty@bnsf.com)

Secretary: Jay Baillargeon, FRA, U.S. Dept. of Transportation (jay.baillargeon@dot.gov)

Treasurer: Hadi Karimi, BNSF Railway (hadi.karimi@bnsf.com)

PR Officer: Kiran Chahar, Norfolk Southern (kiran.chahar3@nscorp.com)


2021 Student Officers

Marko Kapetanović, TU Delft (M.Kapetanovic@tudelft.nl)

Jiaxi Zhao, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (jiaxiz3@illinois.edu)

Thank you to our sponsors for 2019:


Gold Sponsors
logo-bnsf.jpg
logo-csx.jpg






Silver Sponsors

Tiger_Analytics_New_Logo.jpg