Fellow Award

The 2024 ISMS Marketing Science Fellows were announced at the  2024 Marketing Science Conference: Ganesh Iyer and Marnik Dekimpe.

The ISMS Fellow Award recognizes cumulative long-term contributions to the mission of ISMS. The mission of ISMS is “…to foster the development, dissemination, and implementation of knowledge, basic and applied research, and science and technologies that improve the understanding and practice of marketing.” While the ISMS Fellow award recognizes past accomplishments and is an honor, it is also meant to encourage responsibility. ISMS Fellows are expected to provide leadership and support for the ISMS community. For a list of ISMS Fellows, please see below.

ISMS Fellows

Greg M. Allenby (2014)
Frank M. Bass (2008)
Eric T. Bradlow (2020)
Bart J. Bronnenberg (2023)
Pradeep K. Chintagunta (2015)
Marnik Dekimpe (2024)
Preyas S. Desai (2018)
Jehoshua Eliashberg (2010)
Tülin Erdem (2018)
Dominique M. Hanssens (2010)
John R. Hauser (2008) 
Ganesh Iyer (2024)
Donald R. Lehmann (2009)
Gary L. Lilien (2008)
John D.C. Little (2008)
Leigh M. McAlister (2018)
Carl F. Mela (2021)
David B. Montgomery (2008)
K. Sridhar Moorthy (2021)
Donald G. Morrison (2008)
Chakravarthi Narasimhan (2014)
Scott A. Neslin (2011)
Jagmohan S. Raju (2017)
Vithala R. Rao (2012)
Brian T. Ratchford (2013)
Peter E. Rossi (2019)
Roland T. Rust (2010)
Subrata K. Sen (2016)
Steven M. Shugan (2008)
Duncan I. Simester (2022)
Kannan Srinivasan (2013)
V. “Seenu” Srinivasan (2009)
Richard Staelin (2008)
K. Sudhir (2023)
Gerard J. Tellis (2011)
Glen L. Urban (2009)
J. Miguel Villas-boas (2019)
Michel Wedel (2012)
Charles B. Weinberg (2008)
Birger Wernerfelt (2020)
Russell S. Winer (2008)

Nomination Process

A nominee for the Fellow Award must have been a full member or retired member of ISMS or the TIMS Marketing College for at least 12 years cumulative. The selection committee will verify this once a person has been nominated. The selection committee will examine four categories when deciding on the awardees.

  1. Research:  Includes impact through quality and quantity of published work in INFORMS journals, and recognition through ISMS/INFORMS awards (e.g., Bass, Little, and other INFORMS awards).
  2. Education: Includes activities that had significant impact on the growth and development of education such as published books and monographs, and chairing doctoral dissertations.
  3. Service:  Includes significant work over an extended period of time on behalf of ISMS. Examples include senior editorial responsibilities in INFORMS journals (such as Editor-in-Chief of Marketing Science, marketing departmental editor of Management Science, area editor of Marketing Science) organizing the Marketing Science Conference and other ISMS and INFORMS conferences, and holding office in ISMS and INFORMS.
  4. Practice: Includes substantial application of OR/MS to significant practical problems within an organization of any type (e.g. academic, for-profit, nonprofit, governmental, military, health care), over an extended period of time, that have had a major impact internal and/or external to the organization. The ISMS Practice Prize and the Edelman Award will be duly recognized.

Contributions in all four categories will be evaluated in a compensatory way. Truly outstanding contributions in one category will also suffice. With rare exceptions, the nominee’s contributions should extend over a period of years and not be limited to a single result. Except for very rare cases, because the award recipient is named an ISMS Fellow, some service to ISMS is a prerequisite for all nominees.

Applications are encouraged from candidates of all backgrounds, universities, and research traditions, especially from underrepresented minorities in marketing science. Contributions to diversity and inclusion are also factors in the evaluation of the nominees.

Nomination letters should be no more than four pages long in total, covering each of the existing criteria for selection, and be accompanied by the nominee’s current vita as well as significant details supporting the nomination. For example, for research this additional information might include indications of impact such as follow-on work, use in doctoral seminars, impact on the practice of marketing, etc. (The committee will do a citation analysis of the publications in the vita.)  For education, it would be helpful to list doctoral students as well as any publications that have a strong educational content. For practice it would be useful to get someone within the organization to comment on the impact of the application. Service contributions should be self-evident, but listing them would still be useful.