INFORMS Open Forum

Announcing the 2018 INFORMS Fellows

  • 1.  Announcing the 2018 INFORMS Fellows

    Posted 10-01-2018 14:31

    Dear INFORMS Members,
    It is with great pleasure that I present the 2018 INFORMS Fellows inductees.  Their contributions enhance our organization and our profession! Please join me in congratulating them today.

    Andrew P. Armacost

    U.S  Air Force Academy

    For sustained contributions to the application of operations  research to military and transportation planning and for significant leadership in operations research education.



    Vicki M. Bier

    University of Wisconsin-Madison

    For her intellectual leadership in decision and risk analysis and for her long-standing contributions to the INFORMS Decision Analysis Society.



    Robert M. Freund

    Professor, MIT Sloan School of Management


    For sustained contributions to O.R. education and mathematical optimization.



    Garud N. Iyengar

    Professor and Chair of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, Columbia University


    For exceptional research, ranging from theory to practice in areas from robust optimization to data science, and for outstanding contributions to education, management, and service.



    R. John Milne

    David D. Reh School of Business at Clarkson University

    For exceptional practice of operations research, extensive service to INFORMS, and outstanding research in planning, scheduling, and supply chain management.  



    Jonathan H. Owen, CAP

    Chief Scientist for Operations Research and Advanced Analytics

    Director of Operations Research, GM Global R&D

    For his contributions to and leadership in applied operations research and advanced analytics practice, and sustained service to the O.R. and management sciences profession.


    Kavita Ramanan

    Roland George Dwight Richardson University Professor

    Division of Applied Mathematics
    Brown University


    For her fundamental contributions to the theory of stochastic processes, stochastic networks and associated fluid and diffusion approximations, including Skorokhod problems and measure-valued processes.


    Ramesh Sharda

    Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Programs

    Regents Prof. and Watson/ConocoPhillips Chairs of Mgmt. Sc. & Info Systems

    Watson Graduate School at Spears School of Business/Oklahoma State University


    For exemplary research and educational contributions in decision support systems and analytics/data science at the operations research/computer science interface and for outstanding service to INFORMS, especially the INFORMS Computing Society.



     Zuo-Jun (Max) Shen

    Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research & Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

    For research contributions to supply chain management specifically inventory management and facility location, and to the education of exceptional graduate students.



    Martin Shubik

    Formerly at Yale University

    For outstanding and fundamental operations research contributions to game theory (including cooperative and experimental games); defense analysis; and the theory of money and financial institutions.



    Jayashankar M. Swaminathan

    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    For path-breaking research on novel operations management models and their implementation at commercial and non-profit organizations, and distinguished leadership and service contributions to the INFORMS community.


    Luk N. Van Wassenhove

    Henry Ford Professor of Manufacturing, Technology and Operations Management Area, INSEAD

    For outstanding contributions in research and education in operations management, and leadership in the fields of closed loop supply chains and humanitarian logistics.






    Nicholas G. Hall
    INFORMS President 2018

    Berry Professor,
    Fisher College of Business,
    The Ohio State University