INFORMS Open Forum

SIGecom Dissertation Award - Final Reminder

  • 1.  SIGecom Dissertation Award - Final Reminder

    Posted 02-14-2020 13:44
    (Apologies for cross-posting.)
    SIGecom Dissertation Award - Call for Nominations

    Please consider nominating graduating Ph.D. students for the SIGecom Dissertation Award. If you are a graduating student, consider asking your adviser or other senior mentor to nominate you.
    Nominations are due on February 29, 2020. This award is given to a student who defended a thesis in 2019. It is a prestigious award and is accompanied by a $1500 prize. In the past, the prize has been awarded to:
    2018: Yannai Gonczarowski, "Aspects of Complexity and Simplicity in Economic Mechanisms"
    2017: Aviad Rubinstein, "Hardness of Approximation Between P and NP"
    2016: Peng Shi, "Prediction and Optimization in School Choice"
    2015: Inbal Talgam-Cohen, "Robust Market Design: Information and Computation "
    2014: S. Matthew Weinberg, "Algorithms for Strategic Agents"
    2013: Balasubramanian Sivan, "Prior Robust Optimization"
    And the award has had nine runner-ups: Nika Haghtalab, Haifeng Xu, Rachel Cummings, Christos Tzamos, Bo Waggoner, James Wright, Xi (Alice) Gao, Yang Cai, and Sigal Oren. You can find detailed information about the nomination process at: We look forward to reading your nominations!
    Your Award Committee,
    Ozan Candogan
    Renato Paes Leme (Chair)
    Yiling Chen

    Ozan Candogan
    University of Chicago