INFORMS Open Forum

2020 MIP Workshop - First Announcement, Poster Submission and Call for Registration

  • 1.  2020 MIP Workshop - First Announcement, Poster Submission and Call for Registration

    Posted 01-09-2020 19:25
    Edited by Carla Michini 01-14-2020 13:05
    The 2020 MIP Workshop feat. DANniversary will be held May 18-21, 2020 at DIMACS, Rutgers University. The 2020 edition will be the seventeenth in the MIP series, and it will be opened by DANniversary, a special conference in celebration of Daniel Bienstock's 60th birthday.

    MIP is a single-track workshop highlighting the latest trends in integer programming and discrete optimization, with invited speakers covering topics of interest to the community, including theory, computational issues and applications. As in previous years, the workshop will include a poster session reserved to students and an award for the best poster.

    The website of MIP 2020 can be found at

    Call for Student Poster Submissions

    We invite abstract submissions for MIP 2020. The student poster session will take place during the reception of the workshop. Students can submit an abstract of their poster at

    The abstract format is: a PDF file, one letter-size page maximum, one-inch margins, 11-point font, single-space.

    Only students may submit poster abstracts. The program committee will select poster competition finalists, who as in years past will also be eligible for travel support funds (estimated at $500 per student). Submitting students not selected as competition finalists may still present their poster (space permitting), but only finalists are eligible for the competition and for travel support.

    The deadline for poster submissions is February 1, and the committee will communicate decisions to submitting students by March 1. Please contact if you have any questions.

    Call for Registration

    Registration is now open:

    MIP 2020 Confirmed Speakers

    * Amitabh Basu (Johns Hopkins University)
    * Daniel Bienstock (Columbia University)
    * Karthekeyan Chandrasekaran (UIUC)
    * Sanjeeb Dash (IBM Research)
    * Jesús De Loera (UC Davis)
    * Martina Fischetti (Vattenfall)
    * Ambros Gleixner (ZIB)
    * Jamie Haddock (UCLA)
    * Gregor Hendel (ZIB)
    * Christopher Hojny (TU Darmstadt)
    * Aleksandr Kazachkov (Polytechnique Montréal)
    * Elias Khalil (University of Toronto)
    * Fatma Kilinç-Karzan (CMU)
    * Jon Lee (University of Michigan)
    * Jannik Matuschke (KU Leuven)
    * Andrea Qualizza (Amazon)
    * Thiago Serra (Bucknell University)
    * Siqian Shen (University of Michigan)
    * Dan Steffy (Oakland University)
    * Noriyoshi Sukegawa (Tokyo University of Science)
    * Jose Verschae (O'Higgins University)
    * Boshi Yang (Clemson University)

    DANniversary Confirmed Speakers

    * Chen Chen (Ohio State University)
    * Misha Chertkov (University of Arizona)
    * Jonathan Eckstein (Rutgers University)
    * Thorsten Koch (ZIB)
    * Andrea Lodi (Polytechnique Montréal)
    * Gonzalo Munoz (O'Higgins University)
    * Iraj Saniee (Nokia Bell Labs)
    * Willem Van Hoeve (CMU)
    * Mark Zuckerberg (University of Melbourne)

    MIP 2020 Program Committee

    * Timo Berthold (FICO & Zuse Institute Berlin)
    * Yuri Faenza (Columbia University)
    * Robert Hildebrand (Virginia Tech)
    * Carla Michini, co-chair (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
    * Yuan Zhou, co-chair (University of Kentucky)

    DANniversary Program Committee

    * Jeff Linderoth (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
    * Alper Atamtürk (UC Berkeley)
    * Gabor Pataki (University of North Carolina)
    * Oktay Günlük (IBM Research)

    Local Organizing Committee
    * Tami Carpenter (DIMACS, Rutgers University)

    Carla Michini
    Assistant Professor
    University of Wisconsin - Madison
    Madison WI