INFORMS Open Forum

2019 INFORMS Computing Society Awards

  • 1.  2019 INFORMS Computing Society Awards

    Posted 10-29-2019 20:22

    The following awards were presented at the INFORMS Computing Society (ICS) during last week's Annual Meeting.

    The ICS Prize is an annual award for the best English language paper or group of related papers dealing with the Operations Research/Computer Science interface. The 2019 prize was awarded to William E. Hart, Carl D. Laird, Jean-Paul Watson, David L. Woodruff, Gabriel A. Hackebeil, Bethany L. Nicholson & John Siirola for spearheading the creation and advancement of Pyomo, an open-source software package for modeling and solving mathematical programs in Python. 

    The ICS Student Paper Award is an annual award for the best paper at the interface of computing and operations research by a student author. The 2019 prize was awarded to Ryan Cory-Wright and Jean Pauphilet of MIT for A Unified Approach to Mixed-Integer Optimization: Nonlinear Formulations and Scalable Algorithms. Honorable mentions were awarded to Sebastián Pérez-Salazar of Georgia Tech for his paper Dynamic Resource Allocation in the Cloud with Near-Optimal Efficiency and to Liyan Xie of Georgia Tech for Robust Hypothesis Testing Using Wasserstein Uncertainty Sets.

    The Harvey J. Greenberg Award for Service is given to an individual in recognition of their impact on the ICS. The award is named in honor of Harvey J. Greenberg, whose service to the Society exemplifies the spirit of the award. It is given at most every two years. The 2019 award was given to Allen Holder of Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.

    Congratulations to the award winners and thanks to the committees who had the difficult job of selecting the winners from many high-quality submissions.

    Mary Fenelon
    Product Marketing Manager, Optimization
    Secretary-Treasurer, ICS