INFORMS Open Forum

MSOM 2021 Distinguished Fellows Award: Call for Nominations.

  • 1.  MSOM 2021 Distinguished Fellows Award: Call for Nominations.

    Posted 9 days ago

    MSOM Distinguished Fellows Award: Call for Nominations.

    The MSOM Society of INFORMS is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Distinguished Fellows Award. Selection as an MSOM Fellow should be considered a rare distinction, comparable with membership in Omega Rho (The Honors Society of INFORMS). Teaching and service contributions are not considered in the selection process.

    Nominations are to be submitted electronically to by February 27th 2021.

    Please take note of the following two important points:

    1. As stipulated in the Fellows founding document, a candidate must be nominated by at least two MSOM society members. The nomination should include letters of support from each nominator.
    2. The committee will only consider those candidates nominated this cycle. People who nominated a candidate in some previous cycle should submit their nomination again if they wish the candidate to be considered this cycle.

    This selected Fellow(s) will be announced in the business meeting at the June 2021 MSOM Summer Conference to be held in Bloomington. The Fellow(s) will be invited to make a presentation at the conference.

    The following MSOM Distinguished Fellows have been elected in the past:

    2020:Jayashankar Swaminathan
    2019: Charles Corbett, Linda Green, Avishai Mandelbaum
    2018: Ed Kaplan and Serguei Netessine
    2017: Sridhar Tayur, Jeannette Song, Beril Toktay
    2016: Christian Terwiesch
    2015: Martin Lariviere and Christopher Tang
    2014: Uday Karmarkar, Robin Roundy and Matt Sobel
    2013: John Birge, Guillermo Gallego and David Simchi-Levi
    2012: Paul Kleindorfer, Jan Van Mieghem, and Ward Whitt
    2011: Gerard Cachon and Peter Kolesar
    2010: Steven Nahmias
    2009: Gabriel Bitran, Aleda Roth, and Luk van Wassenhove
    2008: Sven Axsäter, J. Michael Harrison, and John (Jack) Muckstadt
    2007: Garrett van Ryzin
    2006: Linus Schrage and Harvey Wagner
    2005: Wallace Hopp, Warren Hausman, and Bill Maxwell
    2004: Morris Cohen and Awi Federgruen
    2003: Lawrence Wein
    2002: Marshall Fisher and Evan Porteus
    2001: Ken Baker, Hau Lee, and Paul Zipkin
    2000: John Buzacott, Steve Graves, and Ed Silver

    Atalay Atasu
    President, MSOM Society