INFORMS Open Forum

Gentle Reminder: 2020 JFIG Paper Competition, due on June 30, 2020

  • 1.  Gentle Reminder: 2020 JFIG Paper Competition, due on June 30, 2020

    Posted 06-26-2020 00:00
    Edited by Ming Hu 06-26-2020 00:01
      |   view attached

    Dear Colleagues,

    **Apologies for cross-posting**

    The Junior Faculty Interest Group (JFIG) Forum of INFORMS invites submissions to the 2020 JFIG Paper Competition. JFIG aims to promote the career development of tenure-track faculty in INFORMS. The goals of the paper competition are to encourage research among junior faculty and to increase the visibility of research conducted by junior faculty within the fields of operations research and management science.

    The JFIG Award Committee will judge the submissions and select up to six finalists. The papers submitted for the competition will be evaluated based on the importance of the topic, appropriateness of the research approach, and the significance of research contribution. All submissions should be made electronically (as PDF files) to For more information on the guidelines please see the attached Call for Papers. The submission deadline for the 2020 JFIG Paper Competition is June 30, 2020, 11:59 pm (Pacific Time).

    To help us better match the submission to the judges, please specify in your cover letter the tools and application areas: 

    Tools (Choose all that apply)

    • Optimization
    • Stochastics/Applied Probability
    • Game theory/Mechanism Design
    • Empirical (Natural/Field Experiment)
    • Behavioral/Experimental
    • Machine Learning/Data Analytics
    • Inventory Theory
    • Statistics
    • Simulation
    • Finance Interface
    • Other (please specify):

    Application Area (Choose all that apply)

    • Retail Operations
    • Revenue Management and Innovative Marketplace
    • Service Systems
    • Healthcare
    • Supply Chains (Transportation and Logistics)
    • Military
    • Sustainability
    • Humanitarian Logistics
    • Other (please specify):

    Chairs of the Award Committee:

    Achal Bassamboo 

    Kellogg School of Management

    Northwestern University

    Ming Hu

    Rotman School of Management

    University of Toronto

    Ming Hu
    Rotman School of Management
    University of Toronto