ISS Distinguished Fellow Award

Call for Nominations

The Information Systems Society (ISS) supports the intellectual interests of information systems scholars who are members of INFORMS.  It provides support for academic forums such as the annual Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST), the spring Theory in Economics of IS (TEIS) workshop, the summer Statistical Challenges in E-Commerce Research (SCECR) conference, and the annual IT Teaching workshop.  The society also provides support for editorial activities and publication of Information Systems Research.  In addition, the society sponsors or supports a number of awards each year including the ISS Distinguished Fellow Award, the Sandy Slaughter Early Career Award, the Nunamaker-Chen Dissertation Award among others.

This is a call for nominations for the ISS Distinguished Fellow Awards for 2016.


The primary aim of the award is to recognize individuals who have made outstanding intellectual contributions to the information systems discipline. The awards committee recognizes the multi-dimensional nature of intellectual contributions and will pay attention to a variety of scholarly contributions, including, but not limited to:

  1. Publications that have made a significant impact on theory, research, and practice.
  2. Intellectual leadership in the discipline as reflected in editorial appointments, particularly of INFORMS journals.
  3. Intellectual stewardship of the field as reflected in the mentoring of doctoral students and young researchers

Nominators are encouraged to provide the awards committee with specific indicators of the nominee's contributions in these and other categories.  An Awards Committee has been formed to recommend candidates for the award for 2016.  The committee members are Ramnath Chellappa (chair, ex officio-ISS President), Vijay Mookerjee, Arun Rai and Avi Seidmann.  At this stage, nominations for the award are invited from the information systems community at large. 

Submission Instructions

Though self-nominations are discouraged, anyone can submit a nomination to the chair of the awards committee by email to: (please state the subject as “Nomination for 2016 ISS Fellow”).  The deadline for submission of nominations is August 30, 2016.

The nomination should include a brief (not to exceed two pages) description of the candidate’s achievements and eligibility for the award, and should be accompanied with a CV and/or a bio. Members of the awards committee may add other candidates at their discretion and judgment.

The awards committee will deliberate upon the pool of nominees and make recommendations to the President of the Information Systems Society.  Winners of the award will be informed by September 30, 2016.  The 2016 ISS Distinguished Fellows will be announced during the Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST) to be held in conjunction with the INFORMS annual meeting in Nashville, TN.  A plaque from the society will be presented, followed by a reception and felicitation of the award winners.

It is a condition of the award that the Fellows be members of the Information Systems Society, and, except for unusual circumstances approved by the President of ISS, remain members of the Society until they retire from full-time work.

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2016

  • H. Raghav Rao
  • Yong Tan

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2015

  • Anitesh Barua
  • Anindya Ghose
  • Ram Gopal
  • Viswanath Venkatesh

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2014

  • Paulo Goes
  • Alok Gupta
  • Arun Rai
  • Sandra Slaughter

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2013

  • Ritu Agarwal
  • Chris Kemerer
  • Sumit Sarkar

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2012

  • Tridas Mukhopadhyay
  • Hasan Pirkul
  • Abraham Seidmann

Pictures of ISS Distinguished Fellow Award 2012

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Class of 2011

  • Erik Brynjolfsson
  • Ramayya Krishnan
  • Vijay Mookerjee
  • Barrie Nault
  • Vallabh Sambamurthy

Pictures of ISS Distinguished Fellow Award 2011

ISS Distinguished Fellows: Inaugural Class (2009)

  • Izak Benbasat
  • Gordon B. Davis
  • Prabuddha De
  • Charles Kriebel
  • Haim Mendelson
  • Andrew B. Whinston

  • Robert W. Zmud